Nacogdoches mayor will serve again

NACOGDOCHES, TX (KTRE) - Nacogdoches Mayor Roger Van Horn will serve another term. Voters elected him for a second term against his opponent, and former mayor Richard Johnson. Van Horn received 1069 votes. Johnson got 649 votes.

Don Partin, commissioner of the northwest ward was also reelected. He received 250 votes. His opponent, Gary T. Willis got 122 votes.

Shelley Brophy will become the new northeast ward commissioner. The restaurant owner received 659 votes. Opponents Leterrious Starks got 51 votes, while David Crawford received 143 votes.

Election results will become official on Tuesday when the votes are canvassed at the city commission meeting at 4 p.m.

In Lufkin, Robert Shankle's 89 votes were enough to unseat Rose Boyd from the Lufkin Ward 2 City Council.