Chamber of Commerce Honors Outstanding Citizens

LUFKIN, TX (KTRE)- The ambience of "Community Excellence" filled the room at the Lufkin Civic Center as the Chamber of Commerce held its 68th Annual Angelina County Citizens Banquet on Friday night.

This year the banquet's theme was, "A changed nation and community excellence."

Each year the organization awards two recipients with the Eagle Award
(the highest award) and the Pinnacle Award recognizing them as outstanding citizens that contribute their services and volunteers their time to make a Angelina County better, and a better community.

Chamber of Commerce President, Alex Alexander, says, " This is our way of saying we appreciate your work and the citizens of Lufkin recognize the job your doing, this is our way saying thank you. "

Virginia Lewis, property owner of the Lewis Motel in Lufkin, and A.M. Jeffero, retired school teacher/principal are the 2009 Chamber of Commerce Pinnacle and Eagle Award recipients.

     The Eagle Award

2009  A.M. Jeffero

2008 Dr. Dallas Pierre

2006 Dr. Otis Rhodes

2005 Lillie Davis

2004 Odessa Terry

2003 Johnnie L. Jones

2002 Louis Bronaugh

2001 Percy A. Simond, Jr. & J.D. Henderson, Jr.

2000 Ward Burke

         The Pinnacle Award

2009 Virginia Lewis

2008 Royce Garrett

2006 Margie Harrell & Wade Johnson

2005 N. Simmons

2004 Kenneth Williams

2003 Willie Mae Burley

2002 Rev. Bettie Kennedy

2001 Johnny Giles

2000 Tina Alexander Sellers