James Slack awarded 2009 Silver Strike

LUFKIN, TX (KTRE) - It's an award given to a person that's made a substantial contribution to the community. This year's 2009 silver spike winner is James Slack. Slack is described as "tireless."

The award, given by the Angelina Chamber of Commerce is named in honor of Jack "Butch" McMullen.

©2009 KTRE. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.