Angelina County Business Hall of Fame inducts first three businessmen

LUFKIN, TX (KTRE) - Thursday morning the first three businessmen were inducted into the new Angelina County Business Hall of Fame.

Walter C. Trout, Ernest L. Kurth, and Arthur Temple, Jr. were remembered as great men who laid the foundation for Angelina County.

The Chamber of Commerce came up with the project a couple years ago as a way to recognize the founders of the community.

"This whole event represents our heritage of Angelina County and Lufkin," said Chairman of the Chamber of Commerce Business Task Force Codie Jenkins.  "These three men are part of the group that was the backbone that started this community. It shows where we've been and where we're going."

The Chamber plans to expand the hall of fame with new inductees over the years. It will be housed in the Kurth Memorial Library.

©2009 KTRE. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.