Lumberjacks place 20 on Southland Conference team

NACOGDOCHES, TEXAS- The Stephen F. Austin Lumberjack football team placed 20 athletes on the 2009 All-Southland Conference team announced league officials Tuesday afternoon. The 'Jacks had four first-team representatives and 10 second-teamers, while six players received honorable mention recognition.
Along with the numerous All-SLC selections, four Lumberjacks received the yearly superlatives. Junior quarterback Jeremy Moses has been named Co-Player of the Year, senior defensive end Tim Knicky is the Co-Defensive Player of the Year, junior corner back Andre Banks is the league's Newcomer of the Year, and third-year head coach J.C. Harper has been named SLC Coach of the Year.
"I'm blessed to be surrounded by great people," said Harper. "I have a great staff that works very hard to make sure that SFA is the best it can be. Our senior leadership has been tremendous this year. This program is surrounded by an administrative staff led by our University President, Dr. Baker Pattillo, and Director of Athletics, Robert Hill, who are all committed to winning. I could not be coach of the year without all of these factors."
The first Lumberjack to be named SLC Player of the Year, Moses continued his record-breaking campaign as the SFA signal caller. The 6-0, Baytown, Texas native, completed nearly 68 percent of his passes for 3,488 yards and 36 touchdowns this season. In 2009, Moses led the nation in touchdowns, finished second in passing yards per game and fourth in total offense. Moses is currently the school's all-time leader in completions, touchdown passes and yards passing.
While Moses was breaking records, Knicky wreaked havoc on opposing offenses. Knicky fought his way through an injury-plagued senior season to lead the nation in sacks, and finish among the nation's leaders in tackles for a loss. A preseason All-America selection, Knicky finished the season with 34 tackles, including 14 for losses, and 12 sacks.
Banks transferred to SFA from Navarro College, and immediately brought a winning attitude to the Lumberjacks' secondary. He finished sixth on the team with 52 total tackles, including two for losses. He also picked off two passes and recorded six pass breakups on the year. Banks joins 2008 league newcomer of the year Duane Brooks as the only two Lumberjacks to receive the honor.
Harper has turned around a program that was 0-11 just two seasons ago, and 4-8 last year. Harper's team went from worst to first in the Southland Conference, winning a share of its first league title, and advancing to the NCAA FCS Playoffs for the first time since 1995. The 'Jacks have been one of the most explosive teams in the country each of the past two seasons finishing tops in the nation in passing and scoring offense, and third in the country total offense this season. Harper's exploits have landed him on the 2009 Eddie Robinson Award ballot, an honor given to the nation's top coach.
Joining Knicky on the league's first-team were linebacker Jabara Williams and safety Cory Barlow. Williams recorded another outstanding season for the 'Jacks finishing second on the team with 87 tackles, including 6.5 tackles for losses and one sack. Barlow recorded a career year in his final season in a purple and white uniform. The Friendswood, Texas native, was third on the team with 86 total tackles, and finished among the league leaders with three interceptions.
Brooks followed up his 2008 league newcomer of the year honor by earning first-team all-conference honors. Brooks led the conference and finished third in the country averaging 8.64 receptions per game, and was among the nation's leaders averaging close to 82 yards receiving per game. Brooks finished the regular season with a school-record 95 receptions for 898 yards and six touchdowns. In his final regular-season game, Brooks hauled in a school-record 15 passes.
Glimp has been a steady anchor on the 'Jacks offensive line for the past four seasons. Considered one of the top offensive linemen in the nation, Glimp never missed a start in his four-year career recording 45 consecutive starts. Glimp never surrendered a sack in his final two seasons on campus.
Along with his player of the year honor Moses was one of nine SFA players to earn second-team all-conference honors. Moses was joined on the second-team offense by seniors Vincent Pervis, Contrevious Parks and Max Holmes, and freshman Evan Engwall. Junior Kenneth Charles, and sophomores Devin Ducote and Drew Nelson were second-team selections on defense.
Pervis excelled in the 'Jacks spread offense. The Texas City native carried the ball for 747 yards (5.8 yards per carry) and two scores during his final season. He was also weapon coming out of the backfield hauling in 23 passes for 160 yards. Parks followed up his honorable mention honor last season with second-team recognition at H-Back and return specialist. Parks finished third on the team with 45 catches for 464 yards and five touchdowns. He also averaged 15.1 yards per punt return, and 23.2 yards per kick off return. Holmes is a versatile athlete who made the switch from guard to center midway through his junior year and never looked back. Holmes has started 23 consecutive games since transferring from LSU prior to the 2008 campaign. Engwall led the 'Jacks in scoring with 97 points during his freshman season. He connected on 17-of-25 field goals, including a long of 51 yards. He was a perfect 2-of-2 on field goal attempts from at least 50 yards out.
Charles really came into his own during his junior year. Charles finished seventh on the team with 36 stops from his defensive tackle position, and finished third on the team with 10.5 tackles for losses and 8.5 sacks. Ducote had a tremendous season after leading the team in tackles (112). He spent his freshman season at safety, and was expected to be a key figure at linebacker last season before an injury forced him to the sideline. Ducote was also credited with 11 tackles for losses, including a sack, and intercepted a pass. Nelson continued to shine as the 'Jacks punter finishing second in the league averaging 41.2 yards per punt. Nelson booted a 72-yard punt earlier in the year which was the sixth-longest punt in school history.
Along with the first and second-team selections, SFA also had six athletes earn honorable mention honors. Senior Aaron Rhea, juniors Sean Warren and Banks, sophomores George Bias and Derrick Choice and freshman Gralyn Crawford each garnered honorable mention attention.
"This is a reflection of our team's hard work and commitment," said Harper. "I believe this serves as an example that good things come to those who work hard and are committed to achieving their goal."