Woodville man files for seat held by state rep Jim McReynolds

LUFKIN, TX (KTRE) - Seven Republicans have filed to run for local races in March's primary election, a GOP official said Friday.

James White, from Woodville, is running for the Republican nomination of state representative, a seat held by Democrat Jim McReynolds. Angelina County Republican Chairman Bob Flournoy said the primary would probably be a contested one.

District Judge Paul White, county court-at-law judges Derek Flournoy and Bob Inselmann and County Judge Wes Suiter have filed for reelection.

Scott Cooper has filed to run for the GOP nod in the vacated Pct. 4 commissioner's court seat.

Donny Puckett is running for the Pct. 2 justice of the peace position, which is currently held by Democrat R.G. Bowers.

Nobody with the Democratic Party of Angelina County was immediately available to comment on filings for that party.

In Nacogdoches County, Lane Bradshaw (D) has filed for Pct. 4 commissioner, a position currently held by Tom Strickland.

Incumbent county judge Joe English (R) has filed for re-election.

William Sowell (R) has filed to run for Pct 1 constable.  Sowell has been filling the unexpired term of Shane Johnson who resigned last year to accept a job with a local school district.

Charles Thomson (R) has filed to run for Pct. 2 commissioner, a position currently held by Reggie Cotton, Jr.

The deadline to file for a primary election is Jan. 4.  If you plan to vote in the March Primary, you must be registered at least one month before the election.

©2009 KTRE. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.