Chamber Banquet honors Angelina leaders

LUFKIN, TX (KTRE)- Residents from Angelina County gathered at the Lufkin Civic Center Thursday evening for the 90th Annual Chamber Banquet.

The event is held each year to honor those East Texans who do an exemplary job at supporting the area and helping it's continued growth.

The chamber handed out its Angelina award to Joe Denman, who has worked as a successful business man and community servant for years.

The Golden Anvil Award went to James Slack, who is the Chairman of the Lake Enhancement Task Force. Slack has worked to better the County with projects like Cassells Boykin Park.

"It means that the community shares in the excitement in the appreciation of what this can mean for the whole area," said Slack.

"Great people of East Texas right here. They really won the award, not me. It's the Angelina County award and I've just excepted it for them," said Denman.

Following the awards, Van Watson was welcomed in as the new Chamber Chairman for 2010. The 2009 Chairman, Todd Kassaw left the podium with praise for all of his efforts to better the community.

©2009 KTRE. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.