Angelina Co Treasurer elected region 10 President

ANGELINA CO. (News Release) - Deborah Huffman, Angelina County Treasurer, was elected President of Region 10, County Treasurers' Association of Texas (CTAT) at their meeting held in Nacogdoches in February.

Region 10 is comprised of 17 East Texas counties and focuses on communication and support of the CTAT statewide goals. "I am honored to be elected to this position and will do what I can to support County Treasurers' in East Texas and across the state", Huffman said, "Our association's principle goal is to promote the professional development of our members through education and peer to peer communication. "

"As County Treasurers our roles and responsibilities play an intricate part in the financial structure of county government. We are the county banker performing the daily cash management of county funds. We manage the daily cash management needs of the county while protecting taxpayer funds that have been collected."

She added, "Having a regional and statewide association provides us an opportunity to communicate with other County Treasurers on a regular basis to develop better ways to do our jobs." Region 10 will host all 245 Texas County Treasurers at the 63rd Annual County Treasurers' Association Conference in September, 2011, in Tyler.