Rep. Christian joins conservative movement

AUSTIN, TX (KTRE) - AUSTIN, Texas (AP) - Republican Sen. Dan Patrick has organized a new group of conservative politicians to promote conservative causes and oppose federal government intervention.

Patrick - a conservative radio show host from Houston - on Monday announced the creation of the Independent Conservative Republicans of Texas.

Rep. Wayne Christian announced in a press release that he joined the group as a founding member.

"I hope you will support our effort to unite conservatives across the state as we fight to defend individual liberty, freedom, and the free market ideals that make our country so great," Christian state in a press release.

State Sen. Robert Nichols also joined the movement, according to the group's Web site.

So far, 57 GOP legislators and five primary election winners have signed on to the group. In the House, the most conservative Republicans - 44 of a total of 73 - are listed as founding members.

A news release from Patrick's office said the group is committed to five conservative principles including limiting government and protecting borders.

Founding Members

Texas Senators

Sen. Bob Deuell
Sen. Robert Duncan
Sen. Kevin Eltife
Sen. Craig Estes
Sen. Troy Fraser
Sen. Chris Harris
Sen. Glenn Hegar
Sen. Joan Huffman
Sen. Mike Jackson
Sen. Jane Nelson
Sen. Robert Nichols
Sen. Dan Patrick
Sen. Kel Seliger
Sen. Florence Shapiro

Texas Representatives

Rep. Doc Anderson
Rep. Jimmy Don Aycock
Rep. Leo Berman
Rep. Bill Callegari
Rep. Warren Chisum
Rep. Wayne Christian
Rep. Bryon Cook
Rep. Tom Craddick
Rep. Brandon Creighton
Rep. Myra Crownover
Rep. Drew Darby
Rep. John Davis
Rep. Rob Eissler
Rep. Gary Elkins
Rep. Allen Fletcher
Rep. Dan Flynn
Rep. Kelly Hancock
Rep. Rick Hardcastle
Rep. Linda Harper-Brown
Rep. Will Hartnett
Rep. Charlie Howard
Rep. Bryan Hughes
Rep. Todd Hunter
Rep. Jim Jackson
Rep. Phil King
Rep. Tim Kleinschmidt
Rep. Lois Kolkhorst
Rep. Jodie Laubenberg
Rep. Ken Legler
Rep. Tryon Lewis
Rep. Jerry Madden
Rep. Doug Miller
Rep. Sid Miller
Rep. Geanie Morrison
Rep. Rob Orr
Rep. John Otto
Rep. Tan Parker
Rep. Ken Paxton
Rep. Larry Phillips
Rep. Debbie Riddle
Rep. Ralph Sheffield
Rep. Mark Shelton
Rep. John Smithee
Rep. Larry Taylor
Rep. Randy Weber
Rep. Beverly Woolley
Rep. John Zerwas

Copyright 2010 by The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved.