2 St. Cyprian's teachers complete dyslexia program

Lufkin TX, (Press release) - Two teachers from St. Cyprian's Episcopal School have completed the Dyslexia Specialist Preparation Program from Neuhaus Education Center. This program offers degreed individuals the skills needed to provide instruction to dyslexic students in a school or private setting. The preparation program requires the teachers to have 200 class hours, 700 teaching hours, 10 demonstration lessons of clinical work with an individual student or small group and regular written documentation of students' progress before they receive a Dyslexia Specialist certification.

Ashlie Ballard is a graduate of Stephen F. Austin State University with a degree in Interdisciplinary Studies and a minor in Early Childhood Development. She worked as a 3rd grade teacher at St. Cyprian's for seven years before becoming a Dyslexia Specialist.

Donna Osgood graduated from Stephen F. Austin State University with a degree Interdisciplinary Studies with a Specialization in History. She taught first grade at St. Cyprian's for two years before joining the Dyslexia Specialist team.

Brinn Williford, Head of School at St. Cyprian's School, said, "We are certainly proud of the accomplishments of our Dyslexia Specialists here at St. Cyprian's. We feel that we have the best therapy department the county has to offer. Our staff strives to continually provide the best education possible for all of our students. "

St. Cyprian's has four Neuhaus graduates: Mary Gail McCarty (2005 graduate), Diana Roche (2007 graduate), Ashlie Ballard (2010 graduate) and Donna Osgood (2010 graduate). Neuhaus Education Center is nationally accredited by the International Multisensory Structured Language Education Council (IMSLEC). For more information about St. Cyprian's school, log on to our website at: www.saintcyprians.org.

Pictured from left: Ashlie Ballard, Donna Osgood, Diana Roche and Mary Gail McCarty attending the Neuhaus Education Center graduation in Houston Texas where Ashlie Ballard and Donna Osgood received their Dyslexia Specialist certification.