DETCOG honoring former SFA president

JASPER, TX – The Ralph W. Steen East Texan of the Year Award will be presented during the 41St Annual Deep East Texas Council of Governments (DETCOG) membership meeting and awards luncheon Thursday, May 27th, in Lufkin. The award was named after the beloved Past President of Stephen F. Austin State University, Dr. Ralph W. Steen.  It honors an individual who has played a major role in leadership and service to the 12-county region.

"The annual membership meeting is always special because it gives the DETCOG board of directors, members and staff, a chance to visit with representatives of the communities we serve," says DETCOG's Executive Director, Walter G. Diggles, Sr.  "The highlight of the meeting is always the presentation of the Ralph W. Steen East Texan of the Year.  It has been presented longer than any honor of its type in the region.

Several other presentations will be made during the luncheon.  Outstanding Committee Work on behalf of a DETCOG board member will be recognized with the President's Award.  The Stewart and Malone Memorial Scholarships, and the DETCOG Employee Memorial Scholarship, will be given to students from the region's high schools.

This year's special guest speaker will be State Representative, Jim McReynolds, the chair of the Texas House of Representatives Corrections Committee.

The DETCOG annual membership meeting begins with a Section 8 Housing Landlords workshop at 9:30 a.m. at the Pitser Garrison Civic Center.  At the same time an exhibit room will also be open to guests.

DETCOG's Board President, Donnie Henson, would like to extend an invitation to the public to attend.  The morning sessions are free and open to the public.  Luncheon tickets can be purchased at the door.  Anyone needing information may contact the DETCOG office in Jasper at (409) 384-5704.