Ivy collects second-team NFCA All-Region honors

STARKVILLE, Miss. — UTSA sophomore Caitlyn Ivy has been named to the Louisville Slugger/National Fastpitch Coaches Association (NFCA) All-Central Region second team, the organization announced on Thursday.

Ivy recently was named first-team All-Southland Conference at shortstop after a breakout campaign. She led the Roadrunners in batting average (.383), hits (62), doubles (seven), home runs (12), RBIs (40), total bases (107), slugging percentage (.660) and on-base percentage (.455) and also scored 36 runs.

The Huntington native leads the league in homers and slugging and ranks second in RBIs and total bags.  She registered 19 multiple-hit games, including five with three base knocks, and drove in two or more runs in 11 contests. Her .383 batting average ranks seventh on UTSA's single-season list and her career .353 mark stands third all-time.

Ivy is the 10th Roadrunner to be honored by the NFCA on its all-region squad and the first since three-time honoree Jessica Rogers picked up second-team accolades in 2007.

Five other Southland players were named to the team, including first-team outfielder Hannah Schwarz of Texas A&M-Corpus Christi and second-team members Leah Boatright and Chandler Hall of Texas State, Kendal Harper of Stephen F. Austin and Caley Jeter of Texas A&M-Corpus Christi.

2010 Louisville Slugger/NFCA All-Central Region honorees
First Team
C — Megan May, Texas A&M
1B — Rhiannon Kliesing, Texas A&M
2B — Amber Flores, Oklahoma
3B — Nadia Taylor, Texas
SS — Jenny Bain, Tennessee-Martin
OF — Vallie Gaspard, Louisiana-Lafayette
OF — Christi Orgeron, Louisiana-Lafayette
OF — Hannah Schwarz, Texas A&M-Corpus Christi
UT/DP — Jessica Shults, Oklahoma
UT/P — Melissa Dumezich, Texas A&M
P — Blaire Luna, Texas
P — Keilani Ricketts, Oklahoma

Second Team
C — Lindsey Vandever, Oklahoma
1B — Lexy Bennett, Texas
2B — Caley Jeter, Texas A&M-Corpus Christi
3B — Emily Bledsoe, Texas Tech
SS — Caitlyn Ivy, UTSA
OF — Leah Boatright, Texas State
OF — Kendal Harper, Stephen F. Austin
OF — Taylor Hoaglund, Texas
OF — Nicole Wesley, Baylor
OF — Megan Williams, Tennessee-Martin
UT/DP — Tallie Thrasher, Texas
UT/P — Chandler Hall, Texas State
P — Donna Bourgeois, Louisiana-Lafayette
P — Courtney Cronin, IPFW
P — Paij Lintz, Tennessee-Martin