Three teams to advance in Conference 1A, 2A football playoffs

AUSTIN – The number of teams advancing to the Conference 1A and 2A football playoffs will increase from two to three beginning this football season, the UIL announced Tuesday.

In a 2009 referendum ballot, Conference 1A and 2A superintendents across the state voted to divide football brackets into two divisions (Division I and Division II) prior to the start of the season. The result allowed only two teams from each district to advance to the football playoffs.

The new rule change allows three teams to advance from each district in the Conference 1A eleven-man and Conference 2A football playoffs and will go into effect immediately beginning with the 2010 football season with the first place team receiving a bye in the first round.