Jackets sting to top in the state

BRYAN, Texas (AP) - Windthorst pitcher Travis Wolf has been voted Player of the Year in Class A high school baseball by the Texas Sports Writers Associations.

Wolfe was 13-3 in leading Windthorst to the state championship.  Wolf, who also played catcher when not pitching, batted .420 with 42 runs batted in.  Here is the Texas Sports Writers Association Class A All-State

Baseball Team:


Pitchers - Travis Wolf, Windthorst, sr.; Hunter Perry,

Bosqueville, sr.; (tie) Gunnar Thompson, Cayuga, jr.; Gunner Baker,

Carlisle, fr.

Catcher - D.J. McCormick, Bosqueville, jr.

First baseman - Kory Wilkinson, Wolfe City, sr.

Second baseman - Zach Telchik, Borden County, jr.

Shortstop - Cody Feight, Bosqueville, sr.

Third baseman - Grayson Porter, McLeod, sr.

Outfielders - Evan Burton, Fosan, sr.; Telvin Darden, Overton,

sr.; Colton Crisp, Alto, sr.

DH - Kody Robinson, New Deal, jr.

Player of the Year - Travis Wolf, Windthorst, sr.

Coach of the Year - Scott Belcher, Windthorst


Pitchers - Mickey Villanueva, Stamford, jr.; Dylan Lowery,

Forsan, jr.; Abel Vazquez, Windthorst, jr.

Catcher - Patrick Valdez, New Deal, sr.

First baseman - Tyler Tucker, Evadale, jr.

Second baseman - Dylan Blaylock, Trenton, sr.

Shortstop - Colin Schreiber, Windthorst, sr.

Third baseman - (tie) Chase Schreiber, Windthorst, soph. and

Patrick Dayton, Archer City, sr.

Outfielders - Dilan Anthony, Evadale, sr.; Matt Hall, Hamlin,

sr.; Karl Lamming, Borden County, sr.

DH - Dillon Heim, Carlisle, sr.


Pitchers - Paxton Jordan, Thorndale, jr.; John Baker, Santo,

sr.; (tie) Johnny Gaines, Clarendon, jr.; Jimmy Johnson, Cayuga,


Catcher - Rhett Gresham, Alto, jr.

First baseman - Connor Bertsch, Fayetteville, soph.

Second baseman - (tie) Justin Marquez, Crosbyton, sr.; Calvin

Tomancak, Thorndale, jr.; and Case Gunnels, Lovelady, sr.

Shortstop - Coy Boedeker, Shiner, jr.

Third baseman - (tie) Brock Otto, Fayetteville, sr. and Kyle

Patek, Shiner, sr.

Outfielders - Hayden Nauert, Stamford, sr.; Chris Harvey,

Evadale, jr.; and (tie) Josh Ware, Thorndale, jr.; Joe Hoegger,

Windthorst, soph.

DH - Flynn Chapman, Borden County, sr.

(Copyright 2010 by The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved.)