Salute to Health Care banquet honors medical community

By Whitney Grunder - bio | email

LUFKIN, TX (KTRE) – It's a rare sight-- the entire Lufkin medical community gathering in one location.

Thursday night, hundreds packed the Lufkin Civic Center for the third annual Salute to Health Care hosted by the Angelina County Chamber of Commerce.

Organizers are honoring medical professionals for their work in improving health care in the community.

"We don't I think thank our doctors and our nurses and our pharmacists enough during the year. So we just try to do an elegant evening where we can say thank you for taking care of us and for continuing to bring up to date medical technology into East Texas," said event chairman Tara Watson.

Four awards were given out at the ceremony.

Patricia Jones is nurse of the year.

Demetress Harroll is healthcare professional of the year and "Bubba" Henderson is the individual of merit.

The lifetime achievement award went to Doctor George Thannisch.

©2010 KTRE. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.