’Jacks’ offensive coordinator takes assistant coaching position at WVU

MORGANTOWN, W.V. – Stephen F. Austin offensive coordinator Shannon Dawson has resigned to take a coaching position at West Virginia announced Mountaineer Media Relations Office Wednesday afternoon. Dawson just completed his third season with the Lumberjacks.
"I am so happy for Coach Dawson to get the opportunity to coach at West Virginia," said SFA head coach J.C. Harper. "He was exactly what we needed in our football program with his personality and his approach to coaching offense. I'm so thankful for his time with us and I really wish him the very best of luck. Our offensive mentality wouldn't be where it is now without his Shannon Dawson."
Dawson came to Nacogdoches following a 2007 campaign that saw SFA go 0-11, and was given the responsibility of overhauling the SFA offense. It didn't take long for SFA fans to see the results. Taking over for an offense that averaged only 16 points per game in '07, SFA averaged 35 points per game in Dawson's first year.
Dawson transformed the Lumberjack offense into a high-powered attack that averaged nearly 456 yards of total offense per game, and re-wrote the SFA, Southland Conference and NCAA record books. The 'Jacks' passing attack also  led the nation each of the past two seasons.
During Dawson's time at SFA 23 offensive players have earned All-SLC honors, including eight first-team selections, and five players have received All-America honors. Quarterback Jeremy Moses has been a three-time all-conference selection who earned SLC Offensive Player of the Year honors this season, and repeated as league player of the year in 2010.
A two-time first-team All-America selection, Moses closed out his career as the school and conference's all-time leader in completions, passing yards, touchdown passes and yards of total offense, and ranks among the NCAA top 30 in each category. Moses closed out his career by becoming the NCAA FCS all-time leader in completions (1,184), and is one of three finalists for the 2010 Walter Payton Award.