Annual Nacogdoches County Agriculture Appreciation and Awareness Banquet

(News Release) - The 10th Annual Nacogdoches County Agriculture Appreciation and Awareness Banquet with Keynote speaker Dr. F.E. "Ab" Abernethy was held Monday night.

The 2011 agriculture award recipients are:

The Gregory Grigsby Family will receive the Farm Family of the Year Award sponsored by Tipton Ford.

Ray Mize will receive the Pete Smith Agricultural Pioneer Award sponsored by Heritage Land Bank.

Carrizo Wood Products will receive the Agribusiness of the Year Award sponsored by First Bank & Trust East Texas.

Al Schmidt will receive the Agriculture Educator of the Year award sponsored by Citizens 1st Bank.

Select sponsors are Austin Bank, Texas N.A. - Nacogdoches and Farmers State Bank.

Dr. F.E. "Ab" Abernethy, former editor and executive secretary of the Texas Folklore Society and known around Nacogdoches as The Man Who Built the Lanana Creek Trail. Abernethy served in the Navy, taught English and folklore in higher education institutions including SFASU, traveled the world and is a respected writer and musician.

"He is a man with many interests, and Nacogdoches is the beneficiary," chamber CEO/President Bruce Partain said.

"The purpose of the event is to recognize the impact the agriculture industry has in our county, honor the people that stand out in our ag community and foster the future growth of the industry," Agribusiness Committee Chairman David Alders said. "Scholarship funds will be awarded to deserving youth who are attending the Arthur Temple College of Forestry and Agriculture at SFA, and this year's award recipients will be honored."