Lufkin's Murray beats out McDonald for Ward 6 council seat

LUFKIN, TX (KTRE) - Sarah Murray is the new city council member for Ward 6 in Lufkin.

Murray beat out Darrel L. McDonald in a runoff election by 38 votes.  City Secretary Reneé Thompson announced the results around 7:45 p.m. Saturday.

Murray totaled 156 votes in the runoff putting her ahead of the competition's 118 votes.

This will be Murray's first term as a council member for the city. She will replace Philip M. Medford.

"Both candidates did a good job campaigning," said Thompson. "We had a better voter turnout and I think part of that was due to the hard work of these two candidates."

The ward covers Northwest Lufkin.

About 10 percent of the registered 2,857 voters in Ward 6 cast a ballot.

Copyright 2011 KTRE. All rights reserved.