Call to action: Stop and Remember - KTRE.com | Lufkin and Nacogdoches, Texas

Call to action: Stop and Remember

In honor of the anniversary of the September 11th attacks, KTRE is joining a national campaign and asking you to Stop and Remember. 

At noon on 9.11.11 cease all regular activity for one minute and as bells and sirens ring out, take a moment to honor the victims of the worst terrorist attack on U.S. soil.  Governments and businesses, houses of worship and railways, fire and police departments, and others are called on to ring bells and sound sirens as we observe this Moment of Remembrance. 

At the same time across the country 1pm EDT, noon CDT, 11am MDT, and 10am PDT, we call on you to reflect on the lives lost and those affected by the tragedies of 9-11. 

This Moment of Remembrance provides an opportunity for our country to come together on September 11 to honor the almost 3,000 lives lost and the sacrifices made by thousands of rescue workers and survivors.

The City of Lufkin and Main Street Lufkin are planning a Remembering 9-11: 10th Anniversary of the Attack on America observance for Sunday at 7:40am.  It will be held at Bronaugh Park, adjacent to Lufkin City Hall.

Heroes Day at Clawson Assembly of God to remember 9-11 heroes and to recognize local first responders, firefighters, policemen, forest service, EMS, 10:30 a.m., Sept. 11.

In memory of the 3,000 men and women who lost their lives 10 years ago on Sept. 11, the Stephen F. Austin State University A Cappella Choir will present "Stars and Stripes Forever," a multi-sensory concert, at 2:30 p.m. Sunday, Sept. 11, in W.M. Turner Auditorium.

Herty Baptist Church "We Must Not Forget," musical 6 p.m., Sunday, Sept. 11.

"Cry Out America," an event for Christian believers to unite in prayer for a Christ awakening in our nation at 11 a.m. at 407 E. Hospital St. Nacogdoches on Sept 11.

Check back here at KTRE.com for other observances as we learn of them.

 

Powered by Frankly