Aggies celebrate move to SEC


Southeastern Conference Commissioner Mike Slive welcomed Texas A&M as the 13th member of the league on Monday and says he doesn't expect to add another team before the Aggies begin play next season.

The Aggies are the first newcomers since South Carolina and Arkansas joined the conference in 1992. SEC presidents and chancellors voted unanimously for the move on Sept. 6, but the official announcement was delayed because of the possibility of legal action from Baylor and other members.

With the Big 12 stabilizing that threat is over and the SEC felt it an appropriate time to name A&M its 13th member. Texas A&M president R. Bowen Loftin spoke about the move at a celebration today in Kyle field.

"We just think the fit with the SEC is extremely good," said Loftin. "As I said a while ago, we believe our visibility as [an] institution, and of our athletes here at Texas A&M will be much higher within a conference, the SEC conference right now. So that's why we are doing it."

The SEC announced Sunday that Texas A&M would leave the Big 12 to join the conference next July and will compete in all sports for the 2012-13 academic year.

Celebrations in "the zone" club today included a little Aggie yell practice where they performed the aggie war hymn, as well as exchanging helmets with SEC commissioner Mike Slive.