Gibson Film, "The Passion of the Christ" Reviewed by Local Pastor - KTRE.com | Lufkin and Nacogdoches, Texas

01/30/04 - Lufkin

Gibson Film, "The Passion of the Christ" Reviewed by Local Pastor

Well it's not due to be released into theatres for another month, but already it's causing conflict. "The Passion of the Christ," which is produced and directed by Mel Gibson, has been labeled as anti-semitic by some critics because of the depiction of the crucifixion. But one local pastor, who viewed the film earlier this month, has a different opinion.

"It wasn't the Jews that crucified, it was all of us. This is what we've all done, and that takes away the controversy," said Jeff Robinson, pastor of Southside Baptist Church.

Robinson was anxious to see the film, hoping that it would live up to his expectations and he said it did just that.

When the film ended, Robinson says, you could hear only weeping and silence in the theatre.

"It was the most accurate portrayal of the passion that I've ever seen. Even though I've read the narratives hundreds of times probably. It was intense, the most intense depiction I've ever seen," said Robinson.

The "Passion of the Christ" opens February 25th and is rated R for realism. The film will be at the Lufkin Mall opening weekend.

  • East Texas NewsMore>>

  • Nacogdoches group celebrates Earth Day

    Nacogdoches group celebrates Earth Day

    Sunday, April 22 2018 7:29 PM EDT2018-04-22 23:29:57 GMT
    Photo: KTREPhoto: KTRE

    Across the nation many people celebrated the Earth Day which started 48 years ago after a massive oil spill in California. Fast forward to today, the conversation revolves on conserving water according to organizers with Resilient Nacogdoches where its widely known that East Texas has an abundant resources of natural water. "Children grow up knowing that food, you just buy it, but you can grow it. We need water of course for growing gardens. It's something that we...

    More >>

    Across the nation many people celebrated the Earth Day which started 48 years ago after a massive oil spill in California. Fast forward to today, the conversation revolves on conserving water according to organizers with Resilient Nacogdoches where its widely known that East Texas has an abundant resources of natural water. "Children grow up knowing that food, you just buy it, but you can grow it. We need water of course for growing gardens. It's something that we...

    More >>
  • San Augustine celebrates long-lived community members

    San Augustine celebrates long-lived community members

    Saturday, April 21 2018 7:06 PM EDT2018-04-21 23:06:22 GMT
    Source: KTRE staffSource: KTRE staff
    Source: KTRE staffSource: KTRE staff

    The small, East Texas town of San Augustine hosted a celebration on Saturday for community members who had lived to see more moons than anyone else.   

    More >>

    The small, East Texas town of San Augustine hosted a celebration on Saturday for community members who had lived to see more moons than anyone else.   

    More >>
  • Nacogdoches County girls take down Angelina in KTRE Pineywoods Showdown

    Clean sweep for Nacogdoches in 10th annual KTRE Pineywoods Showdown

    Clean sweep for Nacogdoches in 10th annual KTRE Pineywoods Showdown

    Friday, April 20 2018 9:48 PM EDT2018-04-21 01:48:29 GMT

    The Nacogdoches County girls have snapped a two-game losing streak in the KTRE Pineywoods Showdown following a 54-41 win over Angelina County. 

    More >>

    The Nacogdoches County girls have snapped a two-game losing streak in the KTRE Pineywoods Showdown following a 54-41 win over Angelina County. 

    More >>
Powered by Frankly