Johnny Manziel becomes the first freshman to win the Heisman Trophy

Johnny Manziel has won the 2012 Heisman Trophy, making him the first freshman to ever do so.

Manziel beat out Notre Dame Linebacker Manti Te'o and Kansas State Quarterback Collin Klein.

He is the first freshman to ever win the award.

Manziel led the Aggies to an impressive 10 win season in the team's first season in the Southeastern Conference, throwing for 24 touchdowns and ran for 19, totaling 4600 yards.

"Johnny Football" also broke the SEC record for total offense, previously held by Cam Newton, and was also voted the SEC offensive player of the year.

Thursday evening, Manziel took home the Davey O'Brien Award for the nation's best quarterback.

Manziel is looking to add a bowl game win to his resume on January 4th when the Aggies take on Oklahoma in the AT&T Cotton Bowl.

Copyright 2012 KTRE. All rights reserved.

Related Stories: