Tucson board orders 11 schools closed to save cash - KTRE.com | Lufkin and Nacogdoches, Texas

Tucson board orders 11 schools closed to save cash


The Tucson Unified School District board has formally ordered 11 schools to be shut down at it works to close a $17 million budget shortfall.

Thursday night's vote spares three schools that had been on a list of 14 elementary, middle and high schools the board had listed as closure targets.

Parents pleaded for their local schools to be saved and board members were torn as well but went ahead with the vote.

The schools ordered closed Thursday are Brichta, Menlo Park, Corbett, Lyons, and Schumaker elementary schools, Wakefield, Maxwell, Carson and Hohokam middle schools, Fort Lowell/Townsend K-8 and Howenstine High School.

KGUN-TV reports Sewell, Cragin, and Manzo elementary schools were dropped from the closure list during the board's meeting.

Copyright 2012 Associated Press. All rights reserved.

Powered by Frankly