Larry Smith sworn in as Smith County Sheriff - | Lufkin and Nacogdoches, Texas

Larry Smith sworn in as Smith County Sheriff

Posted: Updated:

There's a new sheriff in town.

Larry Smith was sworn in as the new Smith County Sheriff at the Smith County Courthouse by Judge Jack Skeen at 10 a.m., Tuesday morning.

Smith says a number of changes are in order for the Smith County Sheriff's Office, some of those include, tripling the number of deputies on duty county wide and implementing an aggressive drug enforcement program.

After 36 years as Smith County Sheriff, former Sheriff J.B. Smith stepped down, and his last day as Sheriff was the last day of 2012.

Several other East Texas counties will also have new Sheriff's sworn-in New Years Day:

Angelina County, Cass County, Franklin County, Marion County, and Nacogdoches County will also hold ceremonies. Along with Panola, Rusk, Shelby, Trinity and Van Zandt Counties, who will all see a change in leadership in the New Year.

Along with the new Sheriffs, other elected officials around East Texas will also be sworn in Tuesday.

Copyright 2012 KLTV. All rights reserved.




Powered by WorldNow
KTRE logo


358 TV Road,
Pollok TX 75969

FCC Public File
EEO Report
Closed Captioning

All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 Worldnow and KTRE. All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service.