University of Arizona branch campus changes name - | Lufkin and Nacogdoches, Texas

University of Arizona branch campus changes name


The University of Arizona campus in Cochise County has a new name: UA Sierra Vista.

The campus had been known as UA South since 199.

Dean Jim Shockey says the name change reflects the university's long-time presence in the Sierra Vista area as well as representing work being done to benefit students who want to seek a four-year degree in Sierra Vista.

The Sierra Vista Herald reports that the branch campus started with the Sierra Vista location and expanded to include learning centers in other communities like Douglas and Nogales.

The Sierra Vista location will remain the branch campuses' headquarters.

Copyright 2013 Associated Press. All rights reserved.

Powered by Frankly