Helping Haiti: A week of service in review - KTRE.com | Lufkin and Nacogdoches, Texas

Helping Haiti: A week of service in review

Posted: Updated:
  • Inside KTRE.comMore>>

  • Helping Haiti Day 7: Reflections

    Helping Haiti Day 7: Reflections

    Monday, July 8 2013 12:08 PM EDT2013-07-08 16:08:11 GMT
    We've had new adventures every day in Haiti. About every hour not spent in bed or on the bus, each of us experience a funny, sweet, emotional or challenging moment. As our trip winds down and we get readyMore >>
    We've had new adventures every day in Haiti. About every hour not spent in bed or on the bus, each of us experience a funny, sweet, emotional or challenging moment. As our trip winds down and we get readyMore >>
  • Helping Haiti Day 6: Water Source

    Helping Haiti Day 6: Water Source

    On Saturday, it was back to Merger for another round of Vacation Bible School. I went on an adventure with Roger Russell, who's come on the trip to investigate the community's water resources. RussellMore >>
    On Saturday, it was back to Merger for another round of Vacation Bible School. I went on an adventure with Roger Russell, who's come on the trip to investigate the community's water resources. RussellMore >>
  • HELPING HAITI DAY 5: The struggle

    HELPING HAITI DAY 5: The struggle

    Friday, July 5 2013 5:23 PM EDT2013-07-05 21:23:31 GMT
    HAITI (KTRE) - The Fredonia Hill Baptist Church group split into two groups Friday. One group got up at 5 a.m. and went back to Merger for Vacation Bible School. The second got to sleep in and went upMore >>
    HAITI (KTRE) - The Fredonia Hill Baptist Church group split into two groups Friday. One group got up at 5 a.m. and went back to Merger for Vacation Bible School. The second got to sleep in and went up the mountain to Kencoff for another medical clinic. I joined the medical team.More >>
  • HELPING HAITI DAY 4: Independence Day

    HELPING HAITI DAY 4: Independence Day

    Thursday, July 4 2013 4:41 PM EDT2013-07-04 20:41:56 GMT
    HAITI (KTRE) - I'm 36 years old and spending the Fourth of July outside the United States for the first time in my life. The mission team returned to Merger Thursday to hold another medical clinic. OnceMore >>
    I'm 36 years old and spending the Fourth of July outside the United States for the first time in my life. The mission team returned to Merger Thursday to hold another medical clinic. Once that was finished, we grabbed a sack lunch before visiting with members of the community.More >>
  • HELPING HAITI DAY 3: Planting the seeds

    HELPING HAITI DAY 3: Planting the seeds

    Thursday, July 4 2013 10:41 AM EDT2013-07-04 14:41:47 GMT
    HAITI (KTRE) - Becky and Zac Weems have been on mission trips to Haiti several times. They've held Vacation Bible Schools, soccer camps and just lent support when needed. But this time around, they haveMore >>
    Becky and Zac Weems have been on mission trips to Haiti several times. They've held Vacation Bible Schools, soccer camps and just lent support when needed. But this time around, they have a long-term goal in mind.More >>
  • HELPING HAITI DAY TWO: Who's serving who?

    HELPING HAITI DAY TWO: Who's serving who?

    Tuesday, July 2 2013 2:22 PM EDT2013-07-02 18:22:16 GMT
    Today, Fredonia Hill Baptist Church brought Vacation Bible School to Haiti. Dr. Jacob Benard runs the Bethel Guest House and Orphanage. It was only the guest house, where missionaries stayed before the earthquakeMore >>
    Today, Fredonia Hill Baptist Church brought Vacation Bible School to Haiti. Dr. Jacob Benard runs the Bethel Guest House and Orphanage. It was only the guest house, where missionaries stayed before the earthquake struck.More >>
  • HELPING HAITI INTRO: How I got here

    HELPING HAITI INTRO: How I got here

    Tuesday, July 2 2013 1:13 PM EDT2013-07-02 17:13:18 GMT
    Sometimes listening to God can put you in strange situations. I was in Sunday School at Fredonia Hill Baptist a couple months ago when our teacher gave us a pen and paper and had everyone be quiet andMore >>
    Sometimes listening to God can put you in strange situations.More >>
LUFKIN, TX (KTRE) -

Haiti is a beautiful Caribbean island nation still trying to recover from the devastating earthquake in 2010, but a team from Fredonia Hill Baptist Church in Nacogdoches is trying to change that.

"They have a lot of need but they have so much love and friendship to offer," said nurse and volunteer, Dana Oldham.

The group of 25 arrived in Haiti July 1, and with supplies already needing to be sorted, there was no time to relax.

Tuesday began their busy week with the Haitians.

Everything from playing games to putting on skits with the kids to meeting physical needs, the group made an effort to show compassion to those that they served.

"It's harder to tell who is having more fun, the kids or adults," said KTRE Assignments Editor, Jeff Awtrey.

"I'm covered in powder because I'm playing a role of a soap. We are teaching them about hygiene and how not to get sick and have germs. We want to make sure that they're healthy and safe," said volunteer Lexi Weems.

The group even looked at the local water supply.    

"We wanted to do was determine what the water source of this community was and determine how clean the water is and if there is something we can do in the future," said Awtrey.

All week, the group's clinic stayed busy meeting needs that many East Texans would find ordinary.

"We give them this little bag: tooth brush, tooth paste, deodorant; essentials we have back home, but something that is hard to come by here in Haiti," said Awtrey.

 The group strived to meet all health needs, but they were also there for more.

 "We're not just making this an assembly line where we run them in and run them out. We are coming through and trying to talk to them and just minister to them," said Awtrey.

While it is easy to see the impact they have had on the Haitians, the volunteers have also been impacted.

"We have so much more than other people do around the world, and it's made me realize not to take things for granted and there's people everywhere that God has called us to help," said Oldham.

The team from the church will be in Haiti one more day. They are scheduled to land in Houston Monday night around 11 p.m. The group will then drive back to Nacogdoches and arrive around 2 a.m. Tuesday morning.

Copyright 2013 KTRE. All rights reserved.

  • Helping Haiti: A week of service in reviewMore>>

Powered by WorldNow
KTRE logo

KTRE

358 TV Road,
Pollok TX 75969

FCC Public File
publicfile@ktre.com
936-853-8639
EEO Report
Closed Captioning

All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 Worldnow and KTRE. All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service.