Texas Forestry Museum getting new medical exhibit

LUFKIN, TX (News Release) - The Texas Forestry Museum will soon have a new exhibit for visitors to enjoy.  The museum has been awarded a $6,000 grant from Rotary International and the Angelina Rotary Club to develop an exhibit entitled Sawmill Doctors: East Texas Medical Pioneers. The exhibit will feature artifacts, documents, and photos from sawmill doctors in East Texas during the late 1800's through 1960.  Early sawmills provided the economic foundation for thousands of families in Angelina and surrounding counties.  Physicians were recruited by lumber companies operating in the forests of East Texas to meet the medical needs of workers and their families.

Artifacts include the medical collection of Dr.  Arthur Bryan who served as the doctor at the W.T. Carter & Brother mill in Camden, TX. as well as medical equipment used to serve the workers at Southern Pine Lumber Company in Diboll, which later became Temple-Inland.  The exhibit will also be partially funded through a donation from the Bryan family.  The exhibit is expected to be complete by May 2014.

Along with the museum exhibit, a series of educational traveling trunks will be designed for fourth and seventh grade Texas history students, and will be available on loan to teachers.  Trunks will offer lessons and hands-on activities for students to explore as they learn about local culture and history.  The traveling trunks are expected to be available for the 2014-2015 school year.

The public is encouraged to contact the Texas Forestry Museum to donate or loan artifacts and information that might enhance the exhibit collection.  For more information, please call the museum at 936-632-9535.

The Texas Forestry Museum is located at 1905 Atkinson Drive, and is open 10 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday through Saturday except on major holidays.  Admission is free, but donations are accepted.