Nacogdoches ISD fails to pass bond

Source: KTRE
Source: KTRE

Voters in the Nacogdoches Independent School District said "no" to the $57.78 million bond proposal Saturday.

The proposed bond failed by a margin of 1,229 against and 940 for, according to a Nacogdoches County voting official.

According to the notice of bond election posted on the Nacogdoches ISD Website, the proposed $58.78 million bond would have been used for " the construction, renovation,  acquisition, and equipment of buildings in the district" if it had passed. The bond would have matured in 40 years, according to the bond election notice.

The names marked with asterisks are the winners in their respective races.


City of Appleby

Legal sale of beer and wine

32 For

*36 Against

A one-percent sales and use tax

42 For

25 Against

Chireno ISD

Trustee (vote for one or two)

19 Linda M. Muse

40 Thomas Eddings

*82 Kathy Durrett

*57 Travis Zienko

Cushing ISD

Trustee (vote for one, two or three)

*140 Mike Evans

108 Paul T. Davis

*160 Lynn Moore

*118 Dwayne Goldsberry

Garrison ISD


82 Russell O' Dell

*117 Olan Woodard Jr.

*109 Perry Honea

*115 Billy Cooper

Nacogdoches ISD

Trustee (vote for one)

53 William Shlensky

*997 Susan L. Rushing

694 Russell R. Smith

179 Jason Ellis


940 For

1229 Against


Central ISD

School board Position 1

*207 Lindsey Schumaker

146 Garland Hawk

Hudson ISD

School Board Place 4

54 Carey Johnson

58 Karrie Stanaland

*193 Sam Hustetler

School Board Place 5

92 Erin Parker

*206 Richard Jones (I)

Diboll ISD

School board (3-year terms) (vote for one, two or three)

*187 Trey Wilkerson (I)

*175 Ronnie Coleman (I)

*191 Roy Salazar (I)

146 Keith Whitworth

Huntington ISD

School board Position 1 (vote for one)

127 Jody Mitchell (I)

*149 Brandy Donnell Havard

21 Byron Daniel Beard

City of Huntington

City Council (vote for one or two)

45 Stephen Davidson

*164 Andy Spivey (I)

*188 Todd Ricks

41 Bonnie Harper

78 Glenda Phillips

81 Mike Pearson


*219 Frank Harris

105 Betsy Gregson

Zavalla ISD

School Board (vote for one or two)

*262 Kevin Roebuck (I)

*281 Jamie Dykes (I)

139 Kim Hogan

60 Barry Burch

City of Zavalla


*96 Jimmy Davis (I)

83 Carlos Guzman

City Council at-large (vote for one or two)

*77 Sue Hough (I)

*78 Jack Kendrick

69 Jennifer Duncan Howley

46 Richard Brunk

24 Johnny Dewald

Lovelady ISD

School board

27 Wacy Moore

95 John Michael Burleson