SFA's Roberts, Schneider Highlight All-SLC Selections

SFA's Roberts, Schneider Highlight All-SLC Selections

FRISCO, Texas – Stephen F. Austin's Porsha Roberts has been named the Southland Conference Player of the Year and Defensive Player of the Year, Brandon Schneider picks up Coach of the Year accolades and Taylor Ross and Tierany Henderson were also honored on Tuesday morning with the league office's release of the 2014-15 postseason awards.

Roberts earns the conference's biggest individual honor after a huge senior campaign. The 6-2 center out of Waco, Texas averaged 17.2 points and 9.4 rebounds per game during league play and led the conference in field goal percentage (64.4) and offensive rebounds per game (4.7). Roberts' year was highlighted by a 32-point outburst against Texas A&M-Corpus Christi on Feb. 14 and a 19-rebound domination against Northwestern State on March 5.

A two-time SLC Player of the Week in 2014-15, Roberts ranked among the nation's best in several statistical categories throughout the course of the season. She currently sits second in field goal percentage (62.3), eighth in offensive rebounds per game (4.6) and 53rd in blocks per game (2.2).

SFA now has 11 Player of the Year awards since recognition started in 1983, but Roberts is the first to be honored since 2007 (Charity Egenti).

For the second consecutive year, Roberts was honored with the award for the league's top defensive player. A three-time All-Defensive Team selection over her career overall, Roberts again earned the top spot after leading the conference in blocks per game (2.2) in SLC action while also averaging one steal per game. She anchored a Ladyjack defense that allowed the second fewest points to opposing Southland teams at 58.7 ppg while exerting her dominance on the glass as the top rebounder with 9.4 boards per contest.

Schneider brings home the top coaching honor after guiding his team to the program's 17th Southland Conference Championship, SFA's best SLC record (16-2) in 13 years and the number one seed in the upcoming conference tournament. His team ended the regular season on an 11-game winning streak – the 13th-longest active streak in the NCAA – and a 15-game home winning streak – the 10th-longest active streak in the nation.

Schneider's first Coach of the Year achievement at the Division I level is also the first for the SFA women's basketball program since Lee Ann Riley in 2006.

Ross (second team) and Henderson (third team) rounded out the All-Conference nods for SFA, making the Ladyjacks the only team with three representatives. Ross finished second on the team in scoring with 13.1 points per game while leading the way with 37 steals during the SLC season. The guard also ranked fifth in the league with 4.4 assists per game and was sixth with a 1.3 assist to turnover ratio. With her presence and strong play in the backcourt, SFA ranked first in the league in assists per game (15.6) and assist to turnover ratio (1.0) during the 18-game conference slate.

Henderson played a huge role in the Ladyjacks' success during the conference season and had a big senior season overall. The Austin native finished third on the team in scoring with 11.2 points per game and was second in rebounding (6.4) as well as blocked shots (1.9). Henderson was vital for the Ladyjacks down the stretch, scoring in double figures in nine straight games from Jan. 24 to Feb. 26 and posting two of her three double-doubles of the season during the span.

Henderson also averaged 1.7 steals per game and finished the SLC season ranked third in blocked shots to warrant a selection on her first All-Defensive Team.

The conference honors adds to what has already been a monumental 2014-15 season for SFA Athletics. Schneider becomes the sixth SFA coach to be named the Southland Conference Coach of the Year, joining Brad Underwood (men's basketball), Clint Conque (football), Wally Crittenden (soccer), Debbie Humphreys (volleyball) and Phil Olson (men's and women's indoor track and field).

Roberts also becomes the fifth SFA student-athlete to be named the conference's Player of the Year, joining Thomas Walkup (men's basketball), Gus Johnson (football), Zuri Prince (soccer) and Demi Payne (women's field) as volleyball's Paige Holland was also tabbed the SLC Setter of the Year.

The Ladyjacks will start the 2015 Southland Conference Tournament in Katy, Texas on Saturday at 1:00 p.m. inside the Leonard E. Merrell Center. The first round opponent will be No. 4 Texas A&M-Corpus Christi, No. 5 McNeese State or No. 8 Houston Baptist depending on Thursday and Friday results. The championship game is set for Sunday at noon and will be aired on the CBS Sports Network.

Tickets for the 2015 Southland Conference Championship are available by contacting the SFA Ticket Office at (936) 468-5225 (JACK).

2014-15 All-Southland Conference Honors

First Team

Porsha Roberts – Stephen F. Austin

JaMeisha Edwards – Lamar

Janelle Perez – Northwestern State

Allison Baggett – McNeese State

Shay Weaver – Texas A&M-Corpus Christi

Second Team

Jenny Nash – Nicholls State

Shernise Roberts – Sam Houston State

Taylor Ross – Stephen F. Austin

Maggie Proffitt – Central Arkansas

Jayln Johnson – McNeese State

Third Team

Tierany Henderson – Stephen F. Austin

Dominique Edwards – Lamar

Brianna Mullins – Central Arkansas

Suzzy Dimba – Abilene Christian

Sydney Shelstead – Abilene Christian

All-Defensive Team

Porsha Roberts – Stephen F. Austin

Suzzy Dimba – Abilene Christian

Tierany Henderson – Stephen F. Austin

JaMeisha Edwards – Lamar

Anna Strickland – Houston Baptist

Player of the Year: Porsha Roberts - Stephen F. Austin

Newcomer of the Year: Shay Weaver - Texas A&M-Corpus Christi

Freshman of the Year: Randi Brown - New Orleans

Defensive Player of the Year: Porsha Roberts - Stephen F. Austin

Co-Coach of the Year: DoBee Plaisance - Nicholls State

Co-Coach of the Year: Brandon Schneider - Stephen F. Austin

Courtesy: SFA Athletics