Walkup Tabbed AP Honorable Mention All-American

Walkup Tabbed AP Honorable Mention All-American

NACOGDOCHES, Texas -- Stephen F. Austin junior Thomas Walkup has been named an Associated Press honorable mention All-American, announced today. Walkup becomes the third Lumberjack to earn AP All-America honors, joining Josh Alexander (2008) andMatt Kingsley (2009).

It is the latest in a long line of accolades for Walkup, who is coming off his breakthrough junior season. The 2014-15 Southland Conference Player of the Year, Walkup has already been named a Lou Henson All-American and finalist for Mid-Major Player of the Year, an NABC first team All-District 23 selection and was the MVP of the Southland Conference tournament for the second-straight year.

Walkup led SFA to a 29-5 record, both the SLC regular season and tournament titles and a second-straight NCAA tournament appearance. He led SFA in scoring (15.6 ppg), shooting percentage (.567) and rebounding (6.5 rpg), ranking among the Southland Conference leaders in a number of categories.

Walkup was even more productive during Southland Conference play, averaging 18.1 points and 6.6 rebounds while shooting 61.2 percent from the floor. Four of his five double doubles of the year came in SLC play, including three-straight to close out the regular season in the wins over Incarnate Word, Northwestern State and Sam Houston State to secure SFA's third-straight regular season SLC title.

With one season of eligibility remaining, Walkup has accumulated 1,129 points during his SFA career, which is two points shy of cracking the Lumberjack top-20 leading scorers while ranking 10th during the Division I era. He is also on the brink of joining the Lumberjack all-time leaders in rebounds (521), assists (242), ranking ninth all-time in career field goal percentage (.558).

2015 AP All-Americans

First TeamFrank Kaminsky, WisconsinJahlil Okafor, DukeJerian Grant, Notre DameWillie Cauley-Stein, KentuckyD'Angelo Russell, Ohio State Second TeamDelon Wright, UtahKarl-Anthony Towns, KentuckySeth Tuttle, Northern IowaBobby Portis, ArkansasMalcolm Brogdon, Virginia Third TeamBuddy Hield, OklahomaKyle Wiltjer, GonzagaRakeem Christmas, SyracuseGeorges Niang, Iowa StateKevin Pangos, Gonzaga Honorable MentionLawrence Alexander, North Dakota State; Justin Anderson, Virginia; Ryan Arcidiacono, Villanova; Ron Baker, Wichita State; Jalen Cannon, St. Francis, Brooklyn; Karl Cochran, Wofford; Kyle Collinsworth, BYU; Quinn Cook, Duke; Kris Dunn, Providence; Perry Ellis, Kansas; Rico Gathers, Baylor; Madarious Gibbs, Texas Southern; Anthony Gill, Virginia; Kendall Gray, Delaware State; Ty Greene, S.C.-Upstate; Olivier Hanlan, Boston College; Montrezl Harrell, Louisville; Martez Harrison, UMKC; Tyler Harvey, Eastern Washington; Corey Hawkins, UC Davis; Tyler Haws, BYU; LaDontae Henton, Providence; Darrun Hilliard, Villanova; R.J. Hunter, Georgia State; Stanley Johnson, Arizona; Tyus Jones, Duke; Tyler Kalinoski, Davidson; Tim Kempton, Lehigh; David Laury, Iona; Damon Lynn, NJIT; Derrick Marks, Boise State; Jerell Martin, LSU; T.J. McConnell, Arizona; Mikh McKinney, Sacramento State; Nic Moore, SMU; Justin Moss, Buffalo; Saah Nimley, Charleston Southern; Cameron Payne, Murray State; Chasson Randle, Stanford; Justin Sears, Yale; Kenneth "Speedy" Smith, Louisiana Tech; Keifer Sykes, Green Bay; Marcus Thornton, William & Mary; Melo Trimble, Maryland; Fred VanVleet, Wichita State; Thomas Walkup, Stephen F. Austin; Jameel Warney, Stony Brook; Dez Wells, Maryland; Joseph Young, Oregon.