Nacogdoches Co. among 5 in Deep East Texas added to disaster declaration

NACOGDOCHES COUNTY, TX (KTRE) - Gov. Greg Abbott has added five counties from Deep East Texas to the disaster declaration.

Nacogdoches, Polk, San Augustine, Shelby and Trinity were among 24 more counties added to the list Wednesday.

The following 94 counties have been declared in a state of disaster: Archer, Atascosa, Austin, Bastrop, Baylor, Blanco, Bosque, Bowie, Brazoria, Brazos, Burleson, Caldwell, Calhoun, Cass, Chambers, Cherokee, Clay, Collin, Comal, Comanche, Cooke, Dallas, Denton, Dewitt, Eastland, Edwards, Ellis, Erath, Fannin, Fayette, Fort Bend, Gaines, Garza, Gillespie, Grayson, Grimes, Guadalupe, Harris, Harrison, Hays, Henderson, Hidalgo, Hill, Hood, Houston, Jack, Jasper, Johnson, Kaufman, Kendall, Lamar, Lee, Leon, Liberty, Lubbock, Lynn, Madison, Milam, Montague, Nacogdoches, Navarro, Newton, Nueces, Palo Pinto, Parker, Polk, Real, Red River, Refugio, Robertson, Rusk, Sabine, San Augustine, San Jacinto, Shelby, Smith, Somervell, Starr, Tarrant, Travis, Trinity, Tyler, Uvalde, Van Zandt, Victoria, Walker, Waller, Wharton, Wichita, Williamson, Wilson, Wise and Zavala counties.

The disaster declaration makes the 94 counties eligible for any state and possibly federal funding available to recover from the spring flooding.

Copyright 2015 KTRE. All rights reserved.