Four Dallas Cowboys and two Houston Texans players receive Pro Bowl invitations

Four Dallas Cowboys and two Houston Texans players receive Pro Bowl invitations

With just two weeks left in the NFL regular season, the league has released their 2016 Pro Bowl selections.

Despite the Cowboys having a losing record compared to the AFC South leading Houston Texans, Dallas had more invites to the all-star game in Honolulu, Hawaii.

The offensive line will be represented well in Hawaii starting off with Tyron Smith. He will make his third consecutive appearance. Smith will be accompanied by Travis Frederick and Zack Martin who are both making back-to-back stops for this game.

Kicker Dan Bailey has been deemed Pro Bowl worthy and will be the first Dallas kicker to play in the all-star game since Nick Folk in 2007. The fifth-year veteran has been practically perfect connecting 28 of 29 kicks, including a 54-yard game winner against Washington earlier this month.

Two Houston Texans players got Pro Bowl invitations including JJ Watt. Watt will be going for his fourth straight time. Pro Bowls and sacks are nothing new to the defensive end.

Watt passed Derrick Thomas for the second most career sacks in a player's first five seasons in NFL history and became the second fastest player in NFL history to reach 70 sacks.

After becoming the third youngest player in NFL history to reach 200 receptions and 3,000 receiving yards, wide receiver DeAndre Hopkins will make his first-ever appearance at the Pro Bowl. He's easily been one of the best receivers in the game this year, as he stands amongst the leaders of the league in several stats this year.

Copyright 2015 KTRE. All rights reserved.