San Augustine Co. sheriff candidates share their vision

San Augustine Co. sheriff candidates share their vision
Robert Cartwright
Robert Cartwright
Kevin Gratehouse
Kevin Gratehouse

SAN AUGUSTINE COUNTY, TX (KTRE) - East Texans have to wait until March 1 to vote in the Texas primary. With that in mind, we'll begin to showcase a few races you may see on your ballot come primary day.

There are three vying for the Republican nomination in the San Augustine County's sheriff's race.

The incumbent, David Smith, is running for re-election and is seeking his third term.

His opponents are Robert Cartwright and Kevin Gratehouse.

All three candidates said they're bringing something unique to the table.

"In the future I want to have a deputy stationed at our schools, I believe that would be a help to our school districts," Smith said.

"We have a drug problem in San Augustine and intend on getting with our local churches and faith-based organizations to help deal with people who have addictions," Cartwright said.

"I feel like they have enough officers that they should be able to do more patrolling for the citizens here," Gratehouse said. "I'd also like to see a program where we work with local churches."

Candidates believe their experience makes them the perfect person for the sheriff's position.

"I've served my country. and now, I'd enjoy serving all the citizens in my county, not just those in precinct four," Gratehouse said.

"I've been in law enforcement for a little more than 34 years," Catwright said. "I've worked patrol division, and I've worked criminal investigation division."

"I have made many changes here, and I think the sheriff department is headed in the right direction," Smith said. "I don't think this is the time for change. The changes we have made have been to better the community. We are going to continue working hard."

Here is a list of candidates running in San Augustine County.


Constable, Pct. 2

Romonia Barnes Weathered "Mona"

Alex J. Garner

Royce C. Walker

Position vacated by Jerry Dan Webb. Winner faces Republican Tammy Fountain.



David Smith (I)

Robert Cartwright

Kevin Gratehouse

No Democratic opponent.

Constable, Pct. 1

Shannon Brazeal (I)

Walter F. "Herman" Shofner

Winner faces Democrat Stanley Jackson.

Copyright 2016 KTRE. All rights reserved.