KTRE 9 News wins 2 awards at Texas AP awards banquet - KTRE.com | Lufkin and Nacogdoches, Texas

KTRE 9 News wins 2 awards at Texas AP awards banquet

Source: KTRE Staff Source: KTRE Staff
Source: KTRE Staff Source: KTRE Staff

KTRE 9 News won two major awards, including best newscast, at the Texas AP Broadcasters and Headliners Foundation Awards Banquet in Austin Saturday.

KTRE 9 News won first place in the organization’s Television Division 3 for best newscast. The winning broadcast aired on Dec. 18, 2015.

The award-winning show was anchored by John-Carlos Estrada and Brad Hlozek. Estrada and Darrell Willis were the show’s producers, and Lane Lowery was its director. The show also featured KTRE reporters Caleb Beames, Alexis Frazier, and Donna McCollum and KLTV reporters Kim Loeffler and Julia Jenae.

During the broadcast, Estrada delivered breaking news about a bank robbery in Trinity. The broadcast also featured the verdict in a Nacogdoches murder case and the sentencing on a Tyler man who killed who killed a transgendered woman from Lufkin.

Beames went live during the show in coverage of a first-ever Christmas-themed event from downtown Lufkin called Yule Love Lufkin. Hlozek, the station’s chief meteorologist also gave a full weather forecast a week before Christmas.

KTRE 9 News beat out KRGV in Westlaco and KBTX in Bryan-College Station for the first-place honor. The other stations in Division 3 included Waco-Temple, El Paso, Harlingen, McAllen-Brownsville, Tyler-Longview, Jacksonville, Shreveport, and Texarkana.

Estrada also earned an honorable mention award in the specialty or beat reporting category for his “East Texas Throwback” series.

The Texas Associated Press Broadcasters is a non-profit organization made up of the various Texas radio and television stations that subscribe to the Associated Press.

Copyright 2016 KTRE. All rights reserved.

Powered by Frankly