Stephanie Schwartz Named NTCA Division I National Player of the Year

Stephanie Schwartz Named NTCA Division I National Player of the Year

From SFA Athletics

NORTH BRUNSWICK, N.J. (Press Release)- Stephen F. Austin sophomore Stephanie Schwartz has been the National Tenpin Coaches Association Division I National Player of the Year, announced by the organization tonight at the NCAA Bowling Championships award dinner. Schwartz was also named an NTCA first team All-American, headlining the 2016 list.

The reigning NTCA National Freshman of the Year in 2015, Schwartz continued to rewrite the SFA record books in 2015-16, providing the anchor for head coach Amber Lemke's team all season. Schwartz competed in 47 individual matches on the year with a 210.85 scoring average, the second-best in Ladyjack program history. She also had 26 matches bowling a 200 or better, including nine games of 250 or better.

The Racine, Wisconsin native was named to five all-tournament teams in 2015-16, capturing the individual championship at the UW-Whitewater Warhawk Classic on Feb. 20. It was the second individual title of the sophomore's career as she has claimed eight all-tournament honors during her two years in Nacogdoches, including capturing NCAA Championship All-Tournament honors last season.

The accolades add to her already impressive resume as Schwartz was named the NTCA Freshman of the Year and a first team All-American in 2015. Earlier this season, she captured the U.S. Amateur Title in Las Vegas, earning a spot on the U.S. National Team as well as qualifying for the U.S. National Team for the third-straight season.

With the All-America honors, Schwartz joins former Ladyjack bowler Nicole Parkhurst as the second two-time All-American in program history and the first to earn back-to-back first team honors.

Schwartz and the rest of her Ladyjack teammates now set their sights on the quest for a national championship, getting ready for the 2016 NCAA Bowling Championships that get underway at 11:45 a.m. CT Thursday morning. Day one will consist of the first five pool play matches, wrapping up Friday morning before the double elimination bracket begins Friday afternoon. All the matches will be streamed live at with in-match Twitter updates provided @NECSports and @SFA_Bowling.

2016 NTCA All-Americans

First Team
Stephanie Schwartz – Stephen F. Austin
Jordan Richard – Arkansas State
Thashaina Seraus – Maryland-Eastern Shore
Robyn Renslow – Vanderbilt
Julia Bond – Nebraska

Second Team
Janine Kuwahara – Sam Houston State
Nicolette Sarin – Fairleigh Dickinson
Brooke Wood – Arkansas State
Melanie Hannon – Fairleigh Dickinson
Kristin Quah – Vanderbilt

Third Team
Gazmine Mason – Nebraska
Heather Penatzer – Sam Houston State
Stephanie Mims – Arkansas State
Amanda VanDuyn – Wisconsin-Whitewater
Justyne Falbo – Central Missouri

Player of the Year: Stephanie Schwartz – Stephen F. Austin
Rookie of the Year: Kristin Quah – Vanderbilt
Coach of the Year: Justin Kostick – Arkansas State