Stephen F. Austin Honors Its Own at 2016 Champions Dinner

Stephen F. Austin Honors Its Own at 2016 Champions Dinner

From SFA Athletics

NACOGDOCHES, TX (Press Release)- Stephen F. Austin honored the successes of its 2015-16 athletic season at the annual Champions Dinner, held Wednesday night at the Grand Ballroom in the Baker Pattillo Student Center.

The night serves as a way to recognize the outstanding athletic performances by the Lumberjack athletic teams, who once again sit in prime position to earn another Southland Conference Commissioner's Cup.

SFA recognized a pair of SLC champions in women's soccer and men's basketball, who captured their fifth and fourth-straight titles, respectively. Also, for the first time in program history, a Division I NCAA national champion was recognized as women's bowling received a standing ovation for bringing a title back to Nacogdoches.

It has been another strong showing for the SFA athletic department this season as the Lumberjacks and Ladyjacks have racked up 61 All-SLC honors to date, including 14 first team All-SLC honors and a pair of Players of the Year (Amanda Doyle of women's soccer and Thomas Walkup of men's basketball).

SFA has also produced two All-Americans on the year in Walkup and bowling's Stephanie Schwartz with Schwartz being named the NTCA National Player of the Year – the third time SFA has been home to the nation's best player since 2010. Jeremy Moses (2010) and Demi Payne(2015) were the other two.

With four sports still ongoing, SFA holds a commanding lead in the 2015-16 Southland Conference Commissioner's Cup standings, sitting at 129 points and leading second-place Abilene Christian (114.5 pts.) by 14.5 points with Sam Houston State (107 pts.) 22 points back. SFA is currently leading the Women's All-Sports standings with 76 points, 5.5 points ahead of Abilene Christian, while sitting tied for second in the Men's All-Sports standings with 53 points, tied with Sam Houston State and one back of Lamar's 54 points.

The respective sport award winners were selected by the respective head coach while the Murray Shaw Academic Awards were given to the player with the highest GPA for the year in each sport. The five major award winners were selected by a panel of SFA Athletics administrators.

2016 SFA Champions Dinner Award Recipients

NCAA National Champions
Team MVP Award – Stephanie Schwartz

Dianne Baker Award – Dhanielly Quevedo

George Reese Award – Luke Sheehan
Women's Team MVP Award – Jessie White

Women's Basketball
Lucille Norton Award – Taylor Ross
Sue Gunter Offensive Award – Taylor Schippers
Gary Blair Defensive Award – Paulletta Powell

Athletic Training
Sandy Miller Award – Austen Hutchison

Scotty Bailess Award – Justice Walker
Michelle Reid Award – OJ Olson

Cross Country
Robert Maluski Award – Charles Mathenge
Gwen Cole Award – Shelby Pesek

Track and Field
Men's and Women's Team MVP – Awarded after the season

Men's Basketball
Southland Conference Champions | NCAA Second Round
Buddy Lowery Defensive Award – Trey Pinkney
George Johnson Offensive Award – Thomas Walkup

Southland Conference Champions
Pam Thorsten Award – Brooke Dunnigan

Sadie Allison Award – Brittany Lewis

Team MVP – Garrett McMullen

Mart Crawford Award – Kedrick Harrison
Cally Belcher Award – Jamal Allen

Jene' Carter Award – Nick Bruno (football)

Murray Shaw Awards
Baseball – Clark Kahawaii
Men's Basketball – Dallas Cameron
Women's Basketball – Victoria Pena
Bowling –Paige Kraushaar
Men's Cross Country – Matt Farina
Women's Cross Country – Courtney High
Football – Marlon Walls
Men's Golf – Baxter Ward
Women's Golf – Mackenzie Steiner
Soccer – Carolina Orsi
Softball – Hannah Welch
Tennis – Valeria Terentyeva
Men's Track and Field – Daven Murphree
Women's Track and Field – Demi Payne
Volleyball – Shannon Connell

2016 Major Award Winners
Dick Wright Sportsmanship Award – Trey Pinkney (men's basketball)
Steve McCarty Award – Sydney Reed (women's golf)
R.H. "Bob" Shelton Award – Aaron Thomas (football)
June Irwin Female Athlete of the Year – Demi Payne (track and field)
Ralph Todd Male Athlete of the Year – Thomas Walkup (men's basketball)