The Number Seven

In Scripture the number seven generally stands for completion, fulfillment, perfection and abundance.

The number seven is prominent in Revelations.  Here is more about these uses of "seven":

SEVEN LETTERS - to the seven churches - Ephesus, Smyrna, Pergamum, Thyatira, Sardis, Philadelphia and Laodicea.

SEVEN GOLDEN LAMP STANDS (1:11,20) - Symbolizes the seven churches in Asia. Churches are to be the light of the world.

SEVEN STARS (2:1) - Messengers or leaders of the church

SEVEN SPIRITS OF GOD (3:1) - the Holy Spirit.


  • Commonly known as the four horsemen of the Apocalypse.
  • First judgment – A rider on a white horse held a bow and was given a crown – he rode out as a conqueror bent on conquest. White represents victory.
  • Second judgment – A rider on a red horse was given the power to take peace from the earth and make men slay each other. He was given another large sword. Red is for warfare and bloodshed.
  • Third judgment – Rider on a black horse holding a pair of scales. Black symbolizes famine.
  • Fourth judgment – Rider on a pale horse, named Death. Given the power over a fourth of the earth to kill by sword, famine, plague and he wild beasts of the earth. Pale represents death.
  • Fifth Seal – Altar of souls of those who had been slain. The souls of the martyred.
  • Sixth Seal – The universal judgment. Seventh Seal – Seven angels are given seven trumpets.

SEVEN TRUMPETS (8:69:11) – The trumpet blasts has 3 purposes:

  1. to warn that judgment is certain,
  2. to call the forces of good and evil into battle, and
  3. to announce the return of the King, the Messiah.
  • First trumpet – Hail and fire mixed with blood hurled upon the earth.
  • Second trumpet – A huge mountain all ablaze is thrown into the sea.
  • Third trumpet – A great star, blazing like a torch, fell from the sky.
  • Fourth trumpet – A third of the sun, moon and stars are struck and turn dark.
  • Fifth trumpet – A star (believed to be Christ) falls from the sky and opens the Abyss/Hell.
  • Sixth trumpet – Four demons are released to kill another ¼ of mankind (1/2 of mankind is now killed by God’s judgments).
  • Seventh trumpet – (11:15) Announces the arrival of Christ (the King), the final judgment has begun.

SEVEN GOLDEN BOWLS /PLAGUES (15, 16) The bowl judgments are God's final and complete judgments on earth.

  • First bowl – Ugly and painful sores broke out on the people who had the mark of the beast.
  • Second bowl – Poured out on the sea, it turned into blood and every living thing in the sea died.
  • Third bowl – Poured on the rivers and springs of water, the waters turn to blood.
  • Fourth bowl – Poured on the sun. The sun was given the power to scorch people with fire.
  • Fifth bowl – Poured on the throne of the beast. The beast’s kingdom is plunged into darkness.
  • Sixth bowl – Poured on the Euphrates river (symbolizing unhindered judgment).
  • Seventh bowl – Poured into the air. The seventh bowl creates a great earthquake. Huge hailstones fall from the sky; they are one hundred pounds each.