Three Lumberjacks garner preseason All-Southland Conference Honors

Three Lumberjacks garner preseason All-Southland Conference Honors

NACOGDOCHES, TX (Press Release)- Three Stephen F. Austin Lumberjacks have been named preseason All-Southland Conference selections for the 2016 football season, announced today by the league office. Senior quarterback Zach Conque and junior defensive end John Franklin have been tabbed first team selections with senior safety Patrick Martin earning a second team nod.

A two-time All-SLC honorable mention selection, Conque enters his final season at SFA having already earned his place in the Lumberjack record book. In two seasons in Nacogdoches, he has thrown for 4,666 yards and 31 touchdowns, ranking eighth and ninth, respectively, and is already the 'Jacks all-time leading rusher for a quarterback with 1,180 yards and 24 touchdowns. Conque led the conference in touchdowns accounted for in 2015 with 27 while compiling 2,487 yards of total offense.

Franklin looks to build on his breakout 2015 season which earned the Greenville native second team All-SLC honors. The junior defensive end racked up 32 tackles last year, leading SFA in both tackles for loss (8.5) and sacks (6.0) and ranking among the SLC leaders in both categories. Franklin earned national recognition for his efforts, being named the HERO FCS National Defensive Player of the Week on October 21st, and has garnered attention as a player to watch by a number of national media outlets.

Martin returns to anchor the SFA defensive secondary, earning honorable mention All-SLC honors in both 2014 and 2015. The Spring native has started 31 of his 36 games in an Lumberjack uniform, racking up 148 tackles, 13 tackles for loss, three forced fumbles and three interceptions during his SFA career. He has posted 52 tackles in each of the past two seasons and is the 'Jacks leading returning tackler in 2016 (along with linebacker Price Miller), earning a reputation as one of the hardest hitters in the conference.

Returning student-athletes who earned all-conference honors at the conclusion of the 2015 season were automatically named to the preseason teams. Head coaches from the 11 schools that play football in the Southland Conference voted for the remaining 38 positions, which included six on the first-team offense, four on the first-team defense, 13 positions on the second-team offense and 15 on the second-team defense. No placekickers or punters were nominated to fill the spots on the second team. Coaches could not vote for their own players.

The preseason All-SLC teams have been announced leading up to the 2016 SLC Football Media Day next Wednesday, July 27, at the L'Auberge Resort in Lake Charles, Louisiana. The conference's two preseason polls – coaches and sports information directors – will be announced next Wednesday in conjunction with media day.

2016 All-Southland Conference Preseason Football Teams

First Team Offense
QB – Zach Conque, Stephen F. Austin
RB – Kade Harrington, Lamar
RB – Cory Avery, Sam Houston State
TE/HB – Zach Hetrick, McNeese
WR – Desmond Smith, Central Arkansas
WR – Kent Shelby, McNeese
OL – Bret Treadway, Lamar
OL – Stockton Mallett, Central Arkansas
OL – Mason Martin, McNeese
OL – Bridge Blunt, Sam Houston State
OL – Curtis Riser, Sam Houston State
AP – Yedidiah Louis, Sam Houston State
PK – Luc Swimberghe, Sam Houston State

First Team Defense
DL – P.J. Hall, Sam Houston State
DL – Isaiah Golden, McNeese
DL – Larance Hale, Lamar
DL – John Franklin, Stephen F. Austin
LB – Sam Denmark, Abilene Christian
LB – Ashari Goins, McNeese
LB – Antreaon Bennett, Southeastern Louisiana
DB – Tremon Smith, Central Arkansas
DB – Jabari Butler, Abilene Christian
DB – Dominque Hill, McNeese
DB – B.T. Sanders, Nicholls
DB – Darion Flowers, Sam Houston State
P – Christian Guzman, Houston Baptist
KR – Rodney Randle, Lamar
PR – Brandon Cox, Central Arkansas

Second Team Offense
QB – Jeremiah Briscoe, Sam Houston State
RB – Ryan Ross, McNeese
RB – De'Mard Llorens, Northwestern State
TE/HB – Cody Dauksch, Central Arkansas
WR – Jatavious Wilson, Central Arkansas
WR – Davion Davis, Sam Houston State
WR – Shakeir Ryan, Northwestern State
OL – Riley Mayfield, Abilene Christian
OL – Terrance Boyd, Northwestern State
OL – Dakota Laws, Abilene Christian
OL – Sam Hardy, Sam Houston State
OL – Travis Romero, Southeastern Louisiana
AP – Jatavious Wilson, Central Arkansas

Second Team Defense
DL – Luis Carreno, Sam Houston State
DL – Jammerio Gross, McNeese
DL – Terrence Partee, Central Arkansas
DL – Sione Latu, Sam Houston State
LB – Josh Zellars, Incarnate Word
LB – Collins Okotcha, Sam Houston State
LB – Garrett Dolan, Houston Baptist
DB – Jermaine Antoine, McNeese
DB – George Odum, Central Arkansas
DB – Brendan Langley, Lamar
DB - Adrian Norwood, Incarnate Word
DB – Patrick Martin, Stephen F. Austin
KR – Jatavious Wilson, Central Arkansas
PR – Jordan Hicks, Incarnate Word