Lumberjacks set to open 2016 Fall Camp Monday - KTRE.com | Lufkin and Nacogdoches, Texas

Lumberjacks set to open 2016 Fall Camp Monday

SFA Athletics

NACOGDOCHES, TX (Press Release)- The 2016 Stephen F. Austin fall football campaign officially gets underway Monday, August 8, when the Lumberjacks open up their fall camp schedule. The ‘Jacks will hold 22 practices over the course of three weeks, including three fall scrimmages as SFA begins final preparations for the 2016 season.

“This is always an exciting time of year when we finally get to turn our full focus to the upcoming season,” said head coach Clint Conque. “We have had a very productive offseason and our summer workouts have been really impressive. Now is when the rubber hits the road and we get to put everything we’ve been working on into practice. We’ve got three weeks to work on ourselves and get our team where it needs to be come September.”

The first practice of fall camp will get underway at 3:45 p.m. Monday afternoon after the Lumberjacks’ official report date on Sunday, August 7th. The ‘Jacks will practice once a day each day of camp, with the exceptions of two-a-day practices on Wednesday, August 17, Monday, August 22 and Thursday, August 25 as SFA will not hold official team practices on Sundays.

Three scrimmages highlight the fall camp and give Lumberjack fans their first opportunities to see their team as we head toward the 2016 season. The first scrimmage of fall camp will be held Saturday, August 13, beginning at 4 p.m., followed by the second at 4 p.m. on Saturday, August 20. The final dress rehearsal for the 2016 campaign will be held under the lights at Homer Bryce Stadium, getting underway at 7 p.m. on Wednesday, August 24.

SFA is looking to rebound from a disappointing 2015 season which was defined by a handful of tough losses and an abundance of injuries. Leading the charge for the ‘Jacks in 2016 is a key group of 18 seniors, all of which were either starters or key reserves from 2015. In all, coach Conque returns 17 starters and 36 letterwinners from last season with quarterback Zach Conque (first team), defensive end John Franklin (first team) and safety Patrick Martin (second team) earning preseason All-Southland Conference accolades.

Following the 20-practice fall camp schedule, SFA will begin its regular in-season practice routing on Sunday, August 28th as the Lumberjacks prepare for the 2016 season opener at Texas Tech on Saturday, September 3rd. The 2016 home opener will be the following week against West Alabama on Saturday, September 10th as the Lumberjacks will have five home dates this upcoming season.

2016 STEPHEN F. AUSTIN FALL CAMP SCHEDULE

Monday, August 8 – 3:45 p.m.
Tuesday, August 9 – 3:45 p.m.
Wednesday, August 10 – 3:45 p.m.
Thursday, August 11 – 3:45 p.m.
Friday, August 12 – 3:45 p.m.
Saturday, August 13 - 4:00 p.m. – SCRIMMAGE ONE
Monday, August 15 – 9:15 a.m. / 3:45 p.m.
Tuesday, August 16 – 3:45 p.m.
Wednesday, August 17 – 9:15 a.m. / 3:45 p.m.
Thursday, August 18 – 3:45 p.m.
Friday, August 19 – 3:45 p.m.
Saturday, August 20 – 4:00 p.m. – SCRIMMAGE TWO
Monday, August 22 – 9:15 a.m. / 3:45 p.m.
Tuesday, August 23 – 9:15 a.m. – MEET THE JACKS (6:30 p.m.)
Wednesday, August 24 – 7:00 p.m. – SCRIMMAGE THREE
Thursday, August 25 – 9:15 a.m. / 3:45 p.m.
Friday, August 26 – 3:45 p.m.

Saturday, August 27 – 9:00 a.m.

Powered by Frankly