Angelina College loses in Championship Round

The dream season ends two wins short of the biggest stage in junior college baseball.

Angelina College played five games in three days, winning four. The one challenge against A.C. was working themselves out of the losers bracket of the Region XIV Tournament in Edinburg, TX.

On Friday, the 'Runners shut out Blinn 3-0, then followed that win with a 4-2 loss to Navarro.

Onto the grueling loser's bracket, which forced A.C. to win 5-games in four days.

A.C. responded with a dominating win over San Jacinto. That was followed with a shut out win over Panola thanks to a gem of pitching performance by Jeff Jamnick.

Then came Monday, a day of determination, a day in which the pitching tank was empy.

Angelina had to avenge an earlier loss to Navarro, then beat un-defeated Texarkana to force a winner take all championship game on Tuesday.

The 'Runners were reslient, getting revenge on Navarro, winning 5-1.

Monday night, the heroic run came to an end against Texarkana. A team, who was rested, and had played just three games.

Texarkana crossed the plate 5-times in the 1st inning, which determined the outcome.

The 'Runners committed 7-errors, which was uncharacteristic.

In the end, A.C. lost 8-1. The season ended, Texarkana won the tournament championship and an invitation to the Junior College World Series in Grand Junction, Colorado.

An emotional run by a talented team came to a close, emphasize team. A team with a loaded pitching staff, one that is uncommon on this level. A team which accomplished so much, a team which is the greatest Roadrunner baseball in Angelina College history.

46 wins, 4-postseason victories, and captured the school's 1st regular season conference title since 1989, the first under head coach Jeff Livin.

This group of 'Runners impressed, they entertained, and experienced several multiple game winning streaks.

This will be a team many will discuss and talk about for ages. The 2005 A.C. baseballers earned respect, a national ranking, and were truly the "Remarkable 'Runners"!