McCoy and Williams Earn SEC All-Freshman Honors

McCoy and Williams Earn SEC All-Freshman Honors

Texas A&M Athletics Press Release

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. (Dec. 8, 2016)----- Texas A&M center Erik McCoy and running back Trayveon Williamsearned SEC All-Freshman honors as the Southeastern Conference announced the elite squad today from Birmingham.

The team was voted on by the league's 14 head coaches, who were not permitted to vote for their own players.

McCoy is a redshirt freshman from Lufkin, Texas, and he started every game for the Aggies at center on the offensive front. In addition to handling the majority of the calls up front, McCoy was named the SEC Offensive Lineman of the Week following the Texas A&M 31-24 overtime win against UCLA (Sept. 3). The offensive line did not allow a sack and the offensive line cleared the way for 203 yards on the ground.

Williams is a true freshman from C.E. King High School in Houston. Williams became the first Aggie true freshman to rush for at least 1,000 yards with 1,024 through the regular season. His 217 yards against Tennessee this fall was the second-best rushing performance by any freshman, true or redshirt.

Alabama's Jalen Hurts, an SEC All-Freshman Team honoree at quarterback, was named the SEC's Offensive Player of the Year and Freshman of the Year on Wednesday.
2016 SEC All-Freshman Team  
TE -   Isaac Nauta, Georgia
OL -  Jonah Williams, Alabama             
          Jawaan Taylor, Florida   
          Greg Little, Ole Miss      
          Logan Stenberg, Kentucky
C -     Erik McCoy, Texas A&M
WR - Dimetrios Mason, Missouri
          Van Jefferson, Ole Miss               
QB - Jalen Hurts, Alabama
RB - Benny Snell Jr., Kentucky
          Trayveon Williams, Texas A&M
AP - Jonathan Johnson, Missouri
DL - Jabari Zuniga, Florida
          Marlon Davidson, Auburn
          Ed Alexander, LSU
          McTelvin Agim, Arkansas*
          Jeffery Simmons, Mississippi State*       
LB -   Leo Lewis, Mississippi State
          Devin White, LSU
          De'Jon Harris, Arkansas
DB - Javaris Davis, Auburn
          Nigel Warrior, Tennessee
          Ronnell Perkins, Missouri
          Jaylon Jones, Ole Miss
Special Teams
PK - Rodrigo Blankenship, Georgia
P -     Josh Growden, LSU
RS - Jonathan Johnson, Missouri