LISD school head Goffney selected as state finalist for Superintendent of Year

Source: Lufkin ISD
Source: Lufkin ISD

LUFKIN, TX - Five public school administrators from across Texas were selected as state finalists for the annual Superintendent of the Year (SOTY) award, one of those being Dr. LaTonya Goffney, Superintendent of Schools from Lufkin ISD. Sponsored by the Texas Association of School Boards (TASB), the SOTY program has recognized exemplary superintendents for excellence and achievement in educational leadership since 1984.

The 2017 finalists and their regions are Robert Jaklich, Victoria ISD, Region 3; Thomas Randle, Lamar CISD, Region 4; LaTonya Goffney, Lufkin ISD, Region 7; Judd Marshall, Mount Pleasant ISD, Region 8; and Jim Vaszauskas, Mansfield ISD, Region 11.

The state selection committee, which interviewed regional winners August 25-26 in Austin, targeted such issues as advocacy efforts during the regular and special sessions and the importance of all staff members' contributions to a district's success. Also explored were the ever-changing challenges facing education leaders as they focus on initiatives and programs that truly benefit students.

Scott Skelton, President of the Lufkin ISD Board of Trustees, said, "The Board of Trustees of the Lufkin Independent School District is pleased, but not surprised, that Dr. Goffney has been selected as one of the five finalist for Texas Superintendent of the Year. Dr. Goffney welcomes new ideas and is not afraid to address problems. She handles her job skillfully and leaves our citizens with the knowledge that the District cares about each and every child. The State of Texas has some great educators, but when the roll is called of the greatest, Dr. Goffney's name is at the top."

Dr. Goffney, Lufkin ISD Superintendent, said, "I am very grateful and incredibly honored to be among the top five finalists for this statewide award. What a blessing it is to serve among some of the most outstanding fellow superintendents in Texas." She went on to say, "It's a privilege to work in the Lufkin community where people value public education. This award is a testament to the hard work of our dedicated team including a visionary board, unified staff, and great students."