East Texas Declared Disaster Area

Late Friday afternoon, it was announced that much of the area has been included in the Presidential Disaster Declaration for Hurricane Rita. That declaration authorizes individual assistance from Federal Emergency Management Agency for the following counties:

FEMA Individual Assistance
Angelina, Brazoria, Fort Bend, Harris, Montgomery, Nacogdoches, Polk, Sabine, San Augustine, San Jacinto, Shelby, Trinity, Walker Counties

Applicants are urged to register with FEMA as soon as possible. To do so, call 1-800-621-3362 or go to the website www.fema.gov

Meanwhile, in Nacogdoches County, FEMA supply distribution centers have been consolidated to Sacul, Kingtown, the 59 South rest stop, and Etoile. The last delivery of emergency food packs is now here.