EEOC Celebrated 40th Anniversary In Lufkin

The Equal Employment Opportunity Commission chose the City of Lufkin as the location for its 40th anniversary celebration.

The EEOC paid tribute to a group of outstanding East Texans. A retired school teacher, community activist, and Lufkin's first African-American dentist were among the honorees.

Every year, the EEOC recognizes citizens for their outstanding work in civil and human rights.

Rev. James Townes said, " Those of us who are out on the front lines, we're taking our rightful place to try to advance the cause of all its citizens, because regardless of where you live, regardless of your status in life, you have the right to participate [equality]."

Nineteen groups and individuals were honored Thursday. Among them were the Angelina County Citizens Chamber of Commerce, the City of Lufkin, La Lengua Spanish Newspaper, Andro Branch, Ward A. Burke, CASA of Angelina County, Lacy Chimney, Undoing Racism Task Force, Anthony Erwin, Goodwill Industries of East Texas, I. D. Henderson, Rev. Bettie Kennedy, Lufkin NAACP, Dallas Pierre, Ino Reyes, Percy A. Simond, Jr., Arthur Temple, Top Ladies of Distinction, and Women's Shelter of East Texas.