Political Filing Season Underway

State Representative Jim McReynolds (D) of Lufkin wants to keep serving the people of Texas. He has announced his plans to run for re-election to the Texas House of Representatives, District 12, which includes Angelina, San Jacinto, Trinity, and Tyler counties.

McReynolds was first elected in 1966 and is the longest serving member of the East Texas delegation. "I have been truly honored to have been selected by the folks of District 12 to serve them in the Texas Legislature. It has always been my goal to fight for the interests and values of East Texans and to create new opportunities for a better future for all our families," Representative McReynolds said. "Our work is never done. As a certified public school teacher, I will continue working for a superior education for our children and a quality work place with adequate compensation for our teachers. I also will continue to look after the interests of our seniors, and I will look for new innovative ways to ensure that Texans have access to adequate and affordable health care."

McReynolds has served on numerous committees including House Appropriations, Health and Human Services, Juvenile Justice and Family Issues, Agriculture and Livestock, Select Committee on Rural Economic Development, Joint Committee on Long-Term care, Joint Committee on Welfare to Work, Local Government Ways and Means, Corrections, and Public Health.

He is a board member of the House Research organization, Vice-Chair of the Rural Caucus, and he has been appointed to sit on the National Conference of State Legislators Standing Committee on Agriculture and Livestock.

McReynolds is married to Judy McReynolds, a third grade teacher. They have two sons and two grandsons.

Lufkin businessman Jody Anderson has also announced his candidacy for State Representative District 12. Anderson has served as Executive Director of the Texas Manufactured Housing Association in Austin for the past three years. He will be running on the Republican ticket.

The official filing period for the March Primary ends at 5 p.m. on January 2, 2006.