Local Primary Election Runoffs

Republicans and Democrats cast ballots Tuesday in party runoffs for races that weren't decided in the March Seventh primary election. Some of the most notable runoffs in East Texas were in Nacogdoches, San Augustine, Rusk and Shelby counties.

In the Nacogdoches County Justice of the Peace Precinct 1 race between Republicans Donna Clayton and Kerry Williamson, Williamson is the winner with 647 votes to Clayton's 264 votes.

San Augustine County had the largest number of local runoff races. In the Democratic candidate race for San Augustine County Judge between Sammye Johnson and Randy Williams, Williams pulls out the win with 1,297 votes to 1,209 votes for Johnson.

In the race for County Commissioner Precinct 4 in San Augustine County between Democrats Rodney Ainsworth and Charles Woods, the majority of the votes goes to Ainsworth, 452 votes to 257 votes.

Also in San Augustine County in the Justice of the Peace Precinct 1 race between Sheila Ponder and Vickie Sublett. Voters gave Ponder the nod by just one vote. Ponder had 296 votes to Sublett's 295 votes. The winner will now face Republican Herman Arreguin in the November General Election.

And finally from San Augustine County, in the race for Justice of the Peace Precinct 4 between Democrats Tom Jeanes and J.D. Miller. Miller had 356 votes to Jeanes' 352 votes.

There were several very close races in San Augustine County and election officials say they anticipate some of the contestants will request a recount.

In Rusk County there was one local runoff race to be decided. That race was between Republican candidates Jim Boyd and Mike Pepper. Pepper appears to be the voters' favorite for County Commissioner Precinct 4. He received 463 votes to 373 votes for Boyd. The winner will now face Democrat Clifford Harkness in the November General Election.

Rounding out the list of local runoff races is the Democratic runoff for Shelby County Commissioner Precinct 4 between Kevin Lee Foster and Bradley Edward Allen. Allen walks away the top voter getter after receiving 362 votes to Foster's 279 votes.

Watch the East Texas News Wednesday for more election coverage.