SFA Teaching Excellence Awards

Seven Stephen f. Austin faculty members were recognized for teaching excellence during the 2006 SFA Teaching Excellence Awards Convocation. The teaching excellence awards were established in 1994 to honor outstanding classroom teachers at SFA. Selection criteria is divided into three categories which include knowledge of subject matter, interest in students, organization of classes and assignments, innovative instruction, letters from students, alumni, faculty and teaching colleagues, and contribution to improvement of teaching at the university. Each of the seven candidates were given a plaque and $500. Dr. Wanda Mouton, a communications professor was the recipient of the university teaching excellence award. She received an additional plaque and an additional $500. Keynote speaker for this year's convocation was Dr. Dan Bruton, associate professor of physics and astronomy, and the 2003 recipient of the University Teaching Excellence Award.

Dr. Wanda Mouton
Dr. Wanda Mouton is the College of Applied Arts and Sciences teaching excellence award recipient. An associate professor in the Department of Communication, Muton is a Grrison Hgh Shool graduate. She earned a bachelor's degree in journalism from SFA master's degree in journalism and secondary education from the University of Texas – Permian Basin, and a doctorate from Texas A&M University. She joined SFA in 1990 as an adjunct faculty member. Mouton was a 2003 recipient of the Member In Print award from Delta Kappa Gamma, an international professional teachers' organization and has received awards for writing and layout and design from Texas Press Women. "Dr. Mouton has strong organizational and communication skills," said Dr. James Standley, Dean of the College of Applied Arts and Sciences. "Her considerable ability in this area is founded in a genuine concern for the welfare of students and a love of teaching journalism. She can work enthusiastically with the most inexperienced student as well as with upper level and advanced students with equal effectiveness. Further, she demonstrates with her confident manner that she has those traits of character that make her a good role model for students to emulate."

The Arthur Temple College of Forestry and Agriculture Teaching Excellence award winner is Dr. Daniel Unger, associate professor of remote sensing and geographic information systems.

Dr. Bert Stine is the Teaching Excellence award winner for the Nelson Rusche College of Business. A professor in the Department of Economics and Finance, Stine joined the SFA faculty in 1992.

The College of Education Teaching excellence award recipient is Dr. Dixie Mercer, project director for the visually impaired teacher training program. Mercer joined the Department of Human Services faculty in 1998 and currently serves as associate professor.

The teaching excellence award recipient for the College of Fine Arts is Fred j. Allen. Allen joined the School of Music faculty in 1994 and serves as director of bands.

Dr. Ken Collier is the teaching excellence award recipient for the College of Liberal Arts. He joined the faculty in the Department of Political Science, Geography, and Public Administration, in 1999 and has earned the respect of students and colleagues because of his creative ability as a teacher.

Dr. Pamela Roberson is the teaching excellence award recipient for the College of Sciences and Mathematics. A Department of Mathematics and Statistics faculty member since 1983, Roberson serves as associate professor of mathematics.