Appalachian State Wins Another Title

(AP) Kevin Richardson rushed for 179 yards and four touchdowns to lead Appalachian State to its second straight Division I-AA championship 28-to-17 over Massachusetts. Richardson's third touchdown put the Mountaineers ahead 21-to-14 at the beginning of the fourth quarter. He added another short t.d. run with under two minutes left that gave him the I-AA record for rushing touchdowns in a season with 30. Appalachian State finished 14-and-1 and is the first team to win consecutive crowns in six years. The Minutemen were hoping to win their first title since 1998. They finished 13-and-2.