East Texas Judges Recognized

News Release:

The Deep East Texas Council of Governments (DETCOG) has recognized the eight county judges from the DETCOG twelve county region that will be leaving office at the end of 2006. The presentation was made at the DETCOG Christmas Luncheon in Jasper.

Before the presentation, it was noted that in it's history, DETCOG had never lost this many judges at one time. The presentation was made by District Judge, Joe Bob Golden, of the First Judicial District of the State of Texas. Receiving plaques were Angelina County Judge, Joe Berry; Jasper County Judge, Joe Folk; Nacogdoches County Judge, Sue Kennedy; Sabine County Judge, Jack Leath; San Augustine County Judge, Wayne Holt; Tyler County Judge, Jerome Owens; Houston County Judge, Chris Von Doenhoff; and Shelby County Judge, Floyd Watson.

The plaques noted their dates of service on the DETCOG Board of Directors. When making the presentation to Polk County Judge, Jerome Owens, Judge Golden noted that Judge Owens would become the District Judge serving Texas Judicial District 1A in January.