Leadership Tomorrow

It's been another success year for Leadership Tomorrow. Twenty-three students graduated last night (Tuesday) during a ceremony held in the fellowship hall at First United Methodist church. Leadership Tomorrow is designed for high school juniors and is sponsored by the Angelina County Chamber of Commerce. It's a seven month program which mirrors the Leadership Lufkin program.

Chamber Board Chairman Jim Brody welcomed the group and commended them on their hard work and achievements. Chamber President Jerry Huffman gave the invocation. Keynote speaker, Tina Alexander Sellers, news director for KTRE-TV challenged the students saying, "Just as important as, and linked to your academic achievement is the development of standards of character. All of you here have begun to acquire this means of an education. It will be up to each of you to turn that into something productive. To use your experience with Leadership Tomorrow and make a contribution to your community, your state, your nation."

Sellers also challenged the students, saying, "Don't let your experience with Leadership Tomorrow be the beginning and end of your leadership education. That Leadership Tomorrow diploma is a wonderful foundation on which to build." Sellers congratulated the students on their graduation and encouraged them to "Go for it. Take your chances. Give back to your community. Keep a positive attitude. Let God use you because you are indeed the leaders of tomorrow."

Leadership Tomorrow Committee Chairperson Libby Allen recognized her fellow committee members including J.J.Hollie, Lynn Hopper, Elisabeth Stapleton and Tammy Citty. In addition, Allen recognized and thanked the 2007 Leadership Tomorrow sponsors and parents and presented the twenty-three graduates with their diploma certifying the student's completion of the program.

The graduates are Erin Aikens (Hudson High), Brittney Batten (Huntington High), Jennifer Bradley (Diboll High), Xylina Davis (Diboll High), Taylor Flowers (Central High), Chessa Harris (Huntington High), Taylor Hayes (Huntington High), Ashley Hitchcock (Zavalla High), Camilla Hood (Lufkin High), Ashley Kuykendall (Central High), Katie Mills (Huntington High), Daniel Renfro (Zavalla High), Kayla Rhodes (Zavalla High), Meagan Runnels (Zavalla High), Addie Russell (Hudson High), Nikki Saulsbury (Zavalla High), Jonathan Self (Lufkin High), Sommer Short (Huntington High), John Tatum (Lufkin High), Carianne Teutsch (Lufkin High), Matt Theiss (Home School), Ryan Westbrook (Central High), Sidney White (Lufkin High).

Allen also announced the 2008 Leadership Tomorrow scholarship recipient, who is Nicole Olszewski of Hudson high school.

If you are interested in applying for the Leadership Tomorrow program, there's plenty of time. Applications are available at your high school counselor's office or at the Angelina County Chamber of Commerce in Lufkin.

The deadline for applications is in September. For more information you can call 936-634-6644.